Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 00:33:34
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
What is your take on hitting a vehicle in your assault phase, that you immobilised in your shooting phase, but that moved in its previous turn.
An example would be: In the shooting phase a squad of lootas shoot at a vendetta that moved 6" in its previous turn and score 1 penetrating hit, this manages to immobilise the vendetta which slides to a halt. In the assault phase a squad of slugga boyz assault the vendetta to try and destroy it, what do they need to score a hit, or is it automatic?
The rules say, " Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn" = Automatic hit.
However it also says " Attacking a vehicle that moved at combat speed in its previous turn " = 4+ to hit.
I think that it all comes down to the "is" before immobilised. As it's referring to the present as opposed to the past (moved), and it makes sense to me.
What is your take on it?
Mookie.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 00:36:42
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
LKok at the tenses: IS IMMOBILISED
Is it immobilised? Yes? Then it is hit automatically
It is also hit ona 4+/6+, however hitting autmoatically overrides this....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 00:43:39
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Nosferatu1001:
Thats what I thought too, we just seem to have a few rules laywers around here that argue the opposite.
Will be slapping them with the rulebook in future.
Mookie.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 03:53:41
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Just because you shot and immobilised it, that does not change the fact that it moved in the perious turn.
If a vehicle moves 12 inches, then in your turn you shoot and immobilize it, it has still moved 12 inches. You cannot undo that. SO you hit it on 6s. This comes up alot. Just think about it. If it moves, you roll to hit it based off that.
|
Falcon Punch!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 04:08:20
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect, pg 63 brb: if it's immobilized you auto hit. Very clear
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 04:11:26
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
People read your rule books dammit.
page 63, "attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in it's previous turn. Automatic hit.
So is the vehicle immobilised? Yes so automatic hit.
I know we aren't meant to use it but some of the people here either haven't read the rules and are saying how it is or 'cheat'.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 04:57:18
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
For what it's worth, the INAT FAQ also agrees that a vehicle that is immobilised in the shooting phase is auto-hit in the following assault phase.
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.
DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+
My Army
Orks 2500+ pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 06:20:59
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:LKok at the tenses: IS IMMOBILISED
Is it immobilised? Yes? Then it is hit automatically
This.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 09:51:29
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
If a vehicle both moved at cruising speed last turn and is immobilised you fulfill two conditions on the list and RAW there is no answer which would take precedence.
RAI it's quite obvious that immobilised is meant cause autohits as otherwise it would not be needed in the list at all.
GW can't write clear rules and this is just another case.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 12:16:33
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for the replies lads, I'll be playing it as automatic hits in future. This should most certainly help my Orks wreck some stuff.
Mookie
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 14:38:53
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Webbe wrote:If a vehicle both moved at cruising speed last turn and is immobilised you fulfill two conditions on the list and RAW there is no answer which would take precedence.
RAI it's quite obvious that immobilised is meant cause autohits as otherwise it would not be needed in the list at all.
GW can't write clear rules and this is just another case.
I don't see what's wrong with it. Just apply all applicable results. If it moved 12", 6s equal hits. It's also immobilized, so all attacks automatically hit.
Roll your attacks, and pick out the 6s. Those count as hits. Then include all the other dice, since you auto-hit with the rest.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 15:05:07
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Webbe wrote:If a vehicle both moved at cruising speed last turn and is immobilised you fulfill two conditions on the list and RAW there is no answer which would take precedence.
RAI it's quite obvious that immobilised is meant cause autohits as otherwise it would not be needed in the list at all.
GW can't write clear rules and this is just another case.
It's rather obvious which would take precedence, you have 2 possible ways to hit 6's and auto hit. Obviously auto-hit includes hitting on 6s.
That is like saying when you move 12" you moved combat and cruising speeds so your not sure if it hits on 4s or 6s.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 16:35:32
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
It's obviously not crystal clear rules writing. If it was this thread would never happen.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 16:51:24
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
The problem is with reading, not writing -- this was covered. Roll if you think it is required, to see which are auto-hit, and which are hit because of 6s. Either way, every attack will land if the vehicle is immobilized, regardless of how far it has moved. This comes up every few weeks and lasts until folks read the whole section.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/15 16:52:07
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 18:00:42
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Here is me explaining why NOT auto-hitting immob'd vehicles is against the rules.
From this thread: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/254080.page
Lordhat wrote:What hasn't been stated: If a vehicle that moved and subsequently immobilized is NOT hit automatically, then even stating immobilized in the rule is redundant:
Rhino moves 6" and gets immobilized, Graphics' group plays that models require 4+ to hit it in the next assault phase. The next turn the vehicle cannot move and is hit automatically. Immobilized has absolutely no bearing in this situation, as the vehicle already meets the 'did not move' criteria, and the group has ignored the immobilized criteria in the turn it DID move.
If this was the way the rules were intended to work, why would they even give immobilized as a criteria?
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 19:37:17
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The rules say, " Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn" = Automatic hit.
this is a complete sentance. and states EITHER stationary or immobilised on ITS previous turn. not the current turn. so unless you immobilised it on the other players turn you use the rules for it moving that turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 19:49:42
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
Yeah, you can't blame GW for this one; the rule is clear. "Or" means if either one or both of the conditions is fulfilled, the attacks auto hit regardless of the other condition.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 20:03:34
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
yanaki91303 wrote:The rules say, " Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn" = Automatic hit.
this is a complete sentance. and states EITHER stationary or immobilised on ITS previous turn. not the current turn. so unless you immobilised it on the other players turn you use the rules for it moving that turn.
No, you dont - the "its previous turn" is joined to "was stationary".
IF the vehicle is currently immobilised, you auto hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/15 20:59:26
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
In the deepest reaches of Valhalla
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:yanaki91303 wrote:The rules say, " Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn" = Automatic hit.
this is a complete sentance. and states EITHER stationary or immobilised on ITS previous turn. not the current turn. so unless you immobilised it on the other players turn you use the rules for it moving that turn.
No, you dont - the "its previous turn" is joined to "was stationary".
IF the vehicle is currently immobilised, you auto hit.
What he said. Just as the sentence says " Attacking a vehicle that IS immobilised or WAS stationary in its previous turn" doesn't matter how it moved last turn because it IS immobilized this turn.
//Edge
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/25 03:09:27
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
OnTheEdge wrote:
What he said. Just as the sentence says " Attacking a vehicle that IS immobilised or WAS stationary in its previous turn" doesn't matter how it moved last turn because it IS immobilized this turn.
Thank you for this.
For those involved in the semantics discussion: an "OR" condition is satisfied if either of the two conditions is true. They don't compete. It's a logical test, not a consumer choice.
40K would be a different game if there were rules that promoted the illusion of simultaneous effects or play. Other games do this, but not this one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/25 03:21:25
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
BlueDagger wrote:Incorrect, pg 63 brb: if it's immobilized you auto hit. Very clear
QFT and from a RAI POV it is no longer moving when you assault it. I don't care if a Ferrari was traveling at light speed when it comes to a full stop at a red light, it's no longer moving anymore.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/25 03:32:11
Subject: Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yup, you auto hit.
You also hit on a 4+/6, but since you are also auto hitting anyway, it makes the roll redundant ;D
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/25 03:32:39
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Something I like about this thread is that it conclusively shows that however clearly GW writes, that will never be clear enough for some people. I haven't made a scientific survey of it, but I'd say 90% when someone says that GW has written obscurely, the problem is with their reading skills, not with the clarity of the written material. It's this pervasive weakness of reading comprehension skills, even among such intelligent and well-educated people as play Warhammer 40k, that make technical writing such a specialized discipline and legal waivers so important to doing business.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/26 21:53:55
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Moldy Mushroom
|
"Attacking a vehicle that IS immobilised or WAS stationary in its previous turn"
What happens if Sluggaboyz assault a vehicle that moved 5" last turn.
I3 : Sluggaboyz hits on 4+ and give the vehicle immobilised.
I1 : Nob with Power Klaw hits now on 4+ or Automatic?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/26 21:56:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/26 22:02:40
Subject: Re:Assaulting immobilised vehicles
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Booogeyman wrote:"Attacking a vehicle that IS immobilised or WAS stationary in its previous turn"
What happens if Sluggaboyz assault a vehicle that moved 5" last turn.
I3 : Sluggaboyz hits on 4+ and give the vehicle immobilised.
I1 : Nob with Power Klaw hits now on 4+ or Automatic?
He hits on a 4+ AND automatically
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|