Switch Theme:

Glory Hog Rule Again  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I had a game today with my orks vs his chaos and something came up that I know I played right but he argued against. I had some tankbustas that popped his rhino with an explosion result in the shooting phase. When the assault phase came up he asked me why I didn’t assault the marines that spilled out. I told him that the glory hog rule prevented me from doing that because another vehicle was in my line of sight. He said since I targeted the rhino in the shooting phase and since I didn’t have an option to assault another vehicle that I could assault the marines. I didn’t do it but I won anyways (Annihilation 9 to 7).

I think I played it right but did I really?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/24 06:20:32


Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Sounds correct. Must attempt to shoot/assault vehicle regardless of range if in LOS.

If that means declare an illegal assault that results in 'nothing' so be it because you must attempt to assault the vehicle within LOS but it fails because it is out of range and not the target you shot.

Only if no vehicle is in LOS can you select targets normally so I think you were right in not assaulting him.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

Yes, you played it right. The Glory Hogs rule is pretty clear on that matter.

 
   
Made in au
Courageous Questing Knight






Australia

no, the unit was destroyed, therefore your tankbustas may target anything they please.

any rules in the codecies overules rulebook rules.

YOU DON'T ASSAULT SQUADS THAT POUR OUT OF A TANK -ILLEGAL- it says you may NOT shoot/assault the squads that come out with that unit in the BRB.

Also, it's important to ask your FLGS's rulenut if you have problems, this guy tried to play you.

DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Captain Solon wrote:no, the unit was destroyed, therefore your tankbustas may target anything they please.

any rules in the codecies overules rulebook rules.

YOU DON'T ASSAULT SQUADS THAT POUR OUT OF A TANK -ILLEGAL- it says you may NOT shoot/assault the squads that come out with that unit in the BRB.

Also, it's important to ask your FLGS's rulenut if you have problems, this guy tried to play you.


Everything in this post is wrong.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Captain Solon wrote:no, the unit was destroyed, therefore your tankbustas may target anything they please.

any rules in the codecies overules rulebook rules.

YOU DON'T ASSAULT SQUADS THAT POUR OUT OF A TANK -ILLEGAL- it says you may NOT shoot/assault the squads that come out with that unit in the BRB.

Also, it's important to ask your FLGS's rulenut if you have problems, this guy tried to play you.


Everything in this post is wrong.
MasterSlowPoke is correct

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Captain Solon wrote:no, the unit was destroyed, therefore your tankbustas may target anything they please.


Wrong, there was another vehicle therefore the TB must attempt to assault that - but cannot as they shot another unit

Captain Solon wrote:any rules in the codecies overules rulebook rules.


Wrong, only if they are more specific - this is not more specific than the you-must-assault-what-you-shot-at

Captain Solon wrote:YOU DON'T ASSAULT SQUADS THAT POUR OUT OF A TANK -ILLEGAL- it says you may NOT shoot/assault the squads that come out with that unit in the BRB.


Wrong, see destroyed results in vehicles. You are playing in 4th ed.

Captain Solon wrote:Also, it's important to ask your FLGS's rulenut if you have problems, this guy tried to play you.


WRong, the guy was trying to help by letting him assault another unit.

Seriously , have you played 5th ed or read the rulebook?
   
Made in us
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms






Chino Hills, CA

Firsly, Captain Solon is wrong.

Secondly, It seems that it worked out correctly. Glory Hogs would force you to try to assault nearest vehicle in LOS.

Thirdly, Gwar!'s Back! Break out the drinks!

Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+

WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW

 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

Captain Solon is always wrong.

*nods to Gwar*

I'm trying to work of a Chrissy eve hangover here, please.
   
Made in us
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms






Chino Hills, CA

Seems all the new kids are getting some flak (littlenibbler, Captain Solon, etc.)

Read up B4 U post kiddies.

Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+

WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW

 
   
Made in se
Moldy Mushroom




If TB shoot at Tank A and not destroy it.
Can they when assault Tank B?

Glory Hogs: "... If there is no visible vehicle target, the TB may select a target as normal."
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Booogeyman wrote:If TB shoot at Tank A and not destroy it.
Can they when assault Tank B?

Glory Hogs: "... If there is no visible vehicle target, the TB may select a target as normal."
No because you must assault the unit that you shot at. With the exception of transport where you can assault the unit inside and multiple combats where you charge more then one enemy (still have to charge the unit you shot at first)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Booogeyman wrote:If TB shoot at Tank A and not destroy it.
Can they when assault Tank B?

Glory Hogs: "... If there is no visible vehicle target, the TB may select a target as normal."


"as normal" you can only assault the unit you shot at - so GH provides no override to this basic rule.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: