Switch Theme:

Dreads' smoke and assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Adolescent Youth with Potential



Portland, Or

I'm new to this sight so I hope this post is in the correct place.

I've come up with a tactic that I cannot find a rule that precludes it from use. Please let me know if you can.

Here is the situation:

An I.G. player used one of his multitude of tanks to blow off a weapon on my Dread. He choose the MM as I was within 12" and would get double penetration against his armor value. In my subsequent turn I moved 6", popped-smoke then assaulted his tank which did not move in his previous turn. Thus I got 2 Automatic hits with my close combat weapon, 1 for the CCW and 1 for the assault bonus. These auto hits did what I wanted and wrecked his tank but leaving my rear armor exposed. I'm under the impression as well as the other player that the smoke still grants me a 4+ cover even though I assaulted. Which has now become a proper tactic in mine as well as many others at my F.L.G.S..


Question:

If my Dread has it's shooting weapon blown off (weapon destroyed result on vehicle damage chart) can I still pop smoke and then assault? I believe the scenerio above will help clarify my question.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

As to your question, I am not sure offhand.

Be aware that losing that MM has zero affect on the Cover Save (or lack thereof) granted after popping smoke and assaulting.

DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Adolescent Youth with Potential



Portland, Or

I'm pretty sure this tactic is being played correctly. I shared the scenario just to help anyone who had questions about the details of the situation. Thx for the comment though.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You still gain the cover save for smoke, whether you assault or not - it only prohibits shooting.

In addition Dreadnoughts have 2 attacks basic surely? So you should have had 3 attacks on the charge
   
Made in us
Adolescent Youth with Potential



Portland, Or

I would have had the three but since I lost a weapon we played it as 1 + 1 for the charge. But a further look at the mini rule book makes me realize you are probably right the loss of an arm doesn't take away an attack. Good call mate!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You only lose attacks for losing DCCW - the melta gun arm is just a gun....
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





You don't lose attacks for losing a DCCW unless you have more than one.
   
Made in us
Adolescent Youth with Potential



Portland, Or

Thanks I called some friends and they said the same thing you said nosferatu1001, I guess I was the one out of the loop. So thanks. But it's looking like the original tactic stands as acceptable. Thanks. I'll be back with more questions later.
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






You do not lose an attack by losing the DCCW.

BGB p.73:"If a walker suffers a weapon destroyed result and the palyer chooses the close combat weapon, the walker loses the bonus confered by the [DCCW] ..."

A DCCW simply is a power weapon and double the walker str. So a MM Dread that loses the DCCW will still get 2 attacks at its base STR 6 (allowing armor saves).


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If you have 2 DCCWs and lose one, then the bonus the 2nd DCCW conferred was bonus attack, so you would be back down to the 2 attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/28 00:08:46


Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: