Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 13:33:13
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
The codex it states that I can place a large blast over a model that I have passed during the movement phase.
I assume that I drop the bomb in the head of the poor sucker and roll 1D6 for scatter.
My question is:
Shall I assume if the bomd is dropped down and follow barrage rules and only grant cover if the models are i terrian or shall I follow normal shooting rules that grants other possible cover save. If normal shooting rules apply, shall I treat cover saves from my movement path as shooting direction?
If I treat it as barrage, is bigbomm pinning?
Maybe I am a complete dumpass, but the codex is a bit open on this point (in my head at least)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 13:40:36
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
It would say if it ignored cover saves or if it acted as a barrage weapon. I think it's just a large blast if I remember right so they would get a cover save anyway, as long as their in cover of course.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 13:41:52
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it doesnt say that the bigbomm is a barrage weapon, its just a large blast weapon. So it would follow the same rules as any other blast template
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:13:32
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Actually, it's technically not even a Blast weapon, it just uses the blast marker to determine who is hit (which is NOT the same thing).
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:46:23
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
But wouldnt using a blast template, make it a blast weapon? Forgive me for asking the obvious
As far as weapons go of course
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/31 14:46:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:48:41
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
KingCracker wrote:But wouldnt using a blast template, make it a blast weapon? Forgive me for asking the obvious As far as weapons go of course
No. It has to have the Weapon Type "Blast", which is what causes it to use the blast marker. Using a blast marker does not necessarily mean it has the blast weapon type. Also, there is no such thing as a "Blast Template" and hasn't been since at least 3rd edition
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/31 14:49:19
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:52:59
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
It's not even a shooting weapon since it makes a "special attack" and is used and resolved in the movement phase. Since it's a special case not covered by the shooting rules I'd say that it should be treated like a barrage weapon (cover from center of blast, top (side) armour used if the center of the blast is on the vehicle. However, it certainly is not pinning.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/31 14:54:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:58:20
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:KingCracker wrote:But wouldnt using a blast template, make it a blast weapon? Forgive me for asking the obvious
As far as weapons go of course
No. It has to have the Weapon Type "Blast", which is what causes it to use the blast marker. Using a blast marker does not necessarily mean it has the blast weapon type.
Also, there is no such thing as a "Blast Template" and hasn't been since at least 3rd edition 
Well that makes sense, I started in 3rd lol but uh.... fresh from the GW site ,called templates.......... did they drop the "blast" part then?
Anywho your right it is a special attack. I just figured since it uses the large blast, then it followed blast rules. Its hard to write without using the word "blast template" Thanks GWAR, these are my hands, and now they are tied
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:59:15
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Since you drop it after the movement, the cover is checked from your final position right? You can use it to ignore a lot of simple cover elements like low walls by dropping it on the backside, if so. It is not a barrage weapon though, and all normal cover rules apply.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/31 15:00:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 14:59:36
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
WAIT A SECOND! It says blast template in the blasted codex! How is it those dont exists then? Automatically Appended Next Post: Gorkamorka wrote:Since you drop it after the movement, the cover is checked from your final position right?
You can use it to ignore a lot of simple cover elements like low walls by dropping it on the backside, if so.
It is not a barrage weapon though.
Final position maybe, but youd think you would use the position from where you started, as it is a fly over. But thats real world mechanics, and this is 40k lol
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/31 15:00:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 15:02:51
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
KingCracker wrote:WAIT A SECOND! It says blast template in the blasted codex! How is it those dont exists then?
"Place the large blast template..." Good god, I'm not insane! I didn't just make that wording up when I started out... I've been trying to kick the habit of saying it ever since. edit: It even calls them templates elsewhere, like in the SAG description. GW for the win.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/12/31 15:17:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 15:40:04
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Well, the rules call them Blast Markers.
Thus, by the RaW, Nothing that asks for a Blast Template works
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 18:00:38
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 18:02:04
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Codex trumps rulebook eh?
Ok, the codex asks you to place a Blast Template. I have zero problem with that, that is what the rules say after all.
Where are the rules for what a Blast Template is, good sir?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 18:03:27
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hey your the rules master, you figure it out. Let me enjoy this for more then 15 seconds
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 18:04:06
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
I'd say follow the rules for ordanace, after all if a chopper drops a bomm on you, standing behind a wall won't to anything.
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 18:11:56
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Eldar Own wrote:I'd say follow the rules for ordanace, after all if a chopper drops a bomm on you, standing behind a wall won't to anything.
The rules for Ordnance have nothing to do with cover saves.
Are you thinking of Barrage? If so, the Bigbomm is not stated to be Barrage, so it isn't. Period.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 19:39:33
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Gwar! wrote:Eldar Own wrote:I'd say follow the rules for ordanace, after all if a chopper drops a bomm on you, standing behind a wall won't to anything.
The rules for Ordnance have nothing to do with cover saves.
Are you thinking of Barrage? If so, the Bigbomm is not stated to be Barrage, so it isn't. Period.
Well, it's not a Blast Template either. . . but we still place the marker.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 19:55:26
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
BeRzErKeR wrote:Gwar! wrote:Eldar Own wrote:I'd say follow the rules for ordanace, after all if a chopper drops a bomm on you, standing behind a wall won't to anything.
The rules for Ordnance have nothing to do with cover saves.
Are you thinking of Barrage? If so, the Bigbomm is not stated to be Barrage, so it isn't. Period.
Well, it's not a Blast Template either. . . but we still place the marker.
Yes, you place a "blast template" (whatever that is  ) because the rules tell you to. It doesn't mean it is a Barrage or a Blast attack, as it would have to specifically state it is for it to be. It doesn't, so it isn't.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 20:25:17
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Surely then, by a strict RAW stance, there are no cover saves against it since cover saves are used against shooting attacks?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 20:29:19
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Surely then, by a strict RAW stance, there are no cover saves against it since cover saves are used against shooting attacks?
Can you find me a page/quote for that? It was brought up in another thread, and I don't remember seeing it on ~p20 where cover saves are described. I know the CC rules say you don't get to use cover saves, but I don't recall cover only working against shooting specifically.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/12/31 20:31:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 22:26:23
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Gorkamorka wrote:Can you find me a page/quote for that?
There is no rule that specifically says 'Cover save only work against shooting attacks'... but various parts of the cover save rules make it pretty clear, as it refers to cover being something that shields you from enemy shots, or models being considered in cover when the LOS from the firer is obscured.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 22:39:31
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
insaniak wrote:Gorkamorka wrote:Can you find me a page/quote for that? There is no rule that specifically says 'Cover save only work against shooting attacks'... but various parts of the cover save rules make it pretty clear, as it refers to cover being something that shields you from enemy shots, or models being considered in cover when the LOS from the firer is obscured.
That's sort of my point. Without an actual declaration that they only work against strictly typed shooting attacks a cover save is a save like any other: If gained, it can be used unless it is denied somehow. The rules on p21 that describe cover saves and taking them seem to support that assertion, by my reading. I'm a little unsure if you would gain a save to take here (at a glance I think you would), but that'd require a bunch of strict RAW reading I don't want to do tonight. However, I'm fairly certain that if you had a cover save (from a kff, for example) you could take it.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/12/31 22:46:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 23:17:26
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I think the easiest solution is to follow the barrage rules where you determine cover from the center of the blast marker (or template, or whatever it's called). It's definately not RAW, but I think it's a good middle ground. I guess this is one of those "discuss it with your opponent" type quandries.
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.
DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+
My Army
Orks 2500+ pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 23:49:59
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
In theory coversaves work against all wounds excluding close combat (since it is mention as having no direct effect there)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 00:37:35
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Scouting Shadow Warrior
Somewhere Between here and the Warp
|
Here's what I do when this situation comes up.
Cover saves apply only by a special rule( i.e. KFF) or in area terrain.
Other than that , no cover saves allowed.
That's just what I do, and is by no means official.
BTW, blast templates? Really? It amazes me that GW has the collective intelligence of a grot. MAKE IT CLEAR WHAT FETHING BLAST TEMPLATES ARE!!!!!111!!!!1!1!one
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/01 00:38:02
SPAM FOR THE SPAM GOD!!!!! JAM FOR THE JAM THRONE!!!!!!! -codemonkey
We'ze da Orks, and we'ze were made for fightin' an' WINNIN'!
WHFB Armies:
High Elves: 4000 Points Painted
Orcs & Goblins: 3500 Points Painted
-------------------------------------------------------
DT:80-S+++G+++M++++B---I--Pwhfb05#+++D+A+++/wWD347R++++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 00:51:20
Subject: Re:Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It is essentially the same thing as a Swooping Hawk Grenade pack. There is no specific way that it is play as it is considered a special attack. The rules for shooting a blast call for you to judge what is giving cover from the direction of the firing model, but since this attack is coming from straight down we always play it as barrage.
RAW there is no real answer without an FAQ, make a poll and go from there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/01 03:02:21
Subject: Cover save for Bigbomm??
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Cptn. Waaagh! wrote:BTW, blast templates? Really? It amazes me that GW has the collective intelligence of a grot. MAKE IT CLEAR WHAT FETHING BLAST TEMPLATES ARE!!!!!111!!!!1!1!one
Ultimately, it's only a big deal in RAW discussions. People have been referring to the Blast Markers as templates for 15 years now, despite the core rules not generally doing so. 'Template' has, in the core rules, referred to the teardrop template since 3rd edition, but GW have periodically referred to 'blast templates' in codexes or gaming articles.
So, whilst in RAW terminology there is no defined thing that is a 'blast template', in practice we know what they mean. Automatically Appended Next Post: BlueDagger wrote:It is essentially the same thing as a Swooping Hawk Grenade pack. There is no specific way that it is play as it is considered a special attack. The rules for shooting a blast call for you to judge what is giving cover from the direction of the firing model, but since this attack is coming from straight down we always play it as barrage.
Actually, I don't think the BigBomm counts as coming from above, as it's written.
The Koptaz declare a BigBomm attack against an enemy that the unit "...has moved over during its Movement phase..."
Note the past tense. The bomb isn't resolved as the Koptaz move over the unit. It's resolved against a unit that the Koptaz did move over, after they have finished their movement.
So if you count it as a ranged attack (which it certainly appears to be, with the proviso that it doesn't need LOS or range, since it's allowed to target any unit moved over) it would seem to be resolved from wherever the Koptaz finish their movement. Which would allow for cover if applicable.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/01 03:08:15
|
|
 |
 |
|