Switch Theme:

Does a prefered enemy grenade attack reroll Vs. a walker?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Chicago area

I play have only been playing Black Templars for a little while and something came up that had not before.

The BT have Frag Grenades and the Vow Accept Any Challenge, No Matter The Odds which gives them Preferred Enemy in Close combat.

Grenades on a walker are one attack needing a 6 unless it is stunned or Imobile and then you use the WS.

My friend suggests the basic grenade attack does not get the re roll as the preferred says it is against Vehicles with a WS and the normal does not use the WS to hit.

I contend it is a roll to hit and the Walker has a WS even when not being used so all rolls to hit even with a grenade are rerolled.

I do not see more then an old post on this, how is this played in your games?
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

They reroll the to-hit.

I can understand the issue, but I do not see a caveat disallowing it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/01 16:43:03


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yup, they can re-roll to hit with their Grenades.

It does not say it only works if they use comparitive Weapon Skills (like a Wolf Tooth Necklace Does) so it works for Grenade Attacks. The ONLY restriction is that it does not work on models without a WS, which walkers do not not have (Ow my brain).

So in short: Yes, Preffered Enemy + Grenades = a Re-roll against a Walker whether its Stunned etc. or not.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

Well reading the rules it states " This ability does not work when attacking vehicles without a WS characteristic"

So reading that, and reading the rules in the grenades/vehicles section Id say yes you can re roll. Simply because it doesnt say anything in the vehicle/grenades section about it not working with preferred enemy, AND that the walker has a WS
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: