| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 21:31:31
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Hey hey. So, I'm playing a game against Marines the other day & my opponent drops a drop pod on the table. It has a Teleport homer on it.
He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
I see in the rules that it says the beacon must be on the table at the start of the turn but as technically the turn has already started then surely it won't work?
Similar to a Chaos Personal Icon I guess.
Also, on the same subject. That would also mean that you can 'leapfrog' units onto the table yes?
Any thoughts?
Also, why don't chaos have a drop pod!?! Whats with that?
Cheers.
|
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 21:47:08
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
Question 1: no. Teleport homers work for teleporting termies, not Drop Pods.
Chaos Icons only work for the things it describes it works for in the codex. (namely termies, oblits, and lesser dameons, that's it).
Leapfrogging:
Example, 2 squads of marines.
Side by side.
One stands and shoots cover fire, the other advances.
Next turn the forward squad stands and shoots, the back squad moves up.
That's one example of it.
It generally relates to overalapping supporting elements providing cover fire for each other as they advance.
Nothing to see here, continue past
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/08 04:12:25
This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.
There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.
Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.
Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody's job.
Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn't do it.
It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:13:34
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
That's not quite what I meant. Sorry, perhaps I phrased the question badly....
What I meant about the 'leapfrog' thing was..... Turn one. Drop pod enters first, then Calgar drops down 6" away with a squad. Then another squad appears another 6" away from Calgar (12" from the pod). This happened in a game of Planet strike the other day. As for the Chaos Icons, I was aware of what you quoted, what I compared it for was because it also says that the model with the icon must be on the table at the start of the turn to use it... ie- you can't drop a guy with an icon on the board & then in the same go claim that the other guys arriving don't scatter.......
My original question still stands but I'll rephrase it slightly.....
Can a drop pod enter on turn 1. Then other units use it's locator thingy to not scatter, as it says the locator needs to be on at the start of the turn to use it? Hence the Chaos quote.
Thanks for taking the time to comment though mate.
I hope I've re-phrased it a bit better.
|
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:14:37
Subject: Re:Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Sanctjud has misunderstood your questions, I think. If the DP with the homing beacon wasn't on the table at the beginning of the turn (before reserve rolls, etc.) then it cannot be used in that turn. As for leapfrogging, if I'm reading you correctly, then yes you can use a homing beacon that was on the table at the beginning of the turn to 'jump' another Deepstriking unit with a Homing Beacon forward 6" without fear of scattering, and then do it again on successive turns, as long as the homing beacon being used was on the board at the beginning of the turn. You cannot leapfrop 2 or more units in this way if they are all arriving on the same turn. And Chaos doesn't have access to Drop Pods because the Dev team at GW decided they don't.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/07 22:15:30
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:15:40
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Klueless wrote:Hey hey. So, I'm playing a game against Marines the other day & my opponent drops a drop pod on the table. It has a Teleport homer on it.
He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
No. The homer has to be already on the table at the start of the turn, as specified in the Teleport Homer rules entry.
Also, why don't chaos have a drop pod!?! Whats with that?
For the same reason they don's have various other options from the Marine codex: variety. If they had all the same stuff as Marines, there would be no point having separate army lists.
That being said, there is a Chaos drop pod in the Imperial Armour books, with a model available from Forgeworld.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:16:55
Subject: Re:Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Lordhat wrote:Sanctjud has misunderstood your questions, I think.
If the DP with the homing beacon wasn't on the table at the beginning of the turn (before reserve rolls, etc.) then it cannot be used in that turn.
As for leapfrogging, if I'm reading you correctly, then yes you can use a homing beacon that was on the table at the beginning of the turn to 'jump' another Deepstriking unit with a Homing Beacon forward 6" without fear of scattering, and then do it again on successive turns, as long as the homing beacon being used was on the board at the beginning of the turn. You cannot leapfrop 2 or more units in this way if they are all arriving on the same turn.
And Chaos doesn't have access to Drop Pods because the Dev team at GW decided they don't.
Cheers dude. That's where I was coming from.
|
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:18:10
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Klueless wrote:Hey hey. So, I'm playing a game against Marines the other day & my opponent drops a drop pod on the table. It has a Teleport homer on it.
He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
I see in the rules that it says the beacon must be on the table at the start of the turn but as technically the turn has already started then surely it won't work?
Similar to a Chaos Personal Icon I guess.
You are right, the telehomer or locator beacon (the latter, in your case) has to be on the table at the start of the turn to be usable. As soon as the unit arrives, it is no longer the 'start of the turn' so its telehomer/beacon cannot be used.
Same with Chaos Icons (both CSM and CD).
Also, why don't chaos have a drop pod!?! Whats with that?
Cheers.
Forgeworld has rules for Chaos drop pods, called Dreadclaws. Only really usable in Apocalypse, though, because they use modified flyer rules.
As for why, I'd say it's at least partially for game balance. You could argue that Chaos should have at least limited access to anything the Imperials have, but if that was to be combined with the extra stuff Chaos has, it makes playing Loyalists that little bit less interesting. I remember in 4th edition there was lots of whinging and gnashing of teeth about how Chaos could do everything Imperials could do but better.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/07 22:19:33
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
insaniak wrote:Klueless wrote:Hey hey. So, I'm playing a game against Marines the other day & my opponent drops a drop pod on the table. It has a Teleport homer on it.
He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
No. The homer has to be already on the table at the start of the turn, as specified in the Teleport Homer rules entry.
Also, why don't chaos have a drop pod!?! Whats with that?
For the same reason they don's have various other options from the Marine codex: variety. If they had all the same stuff as Marines, there would be no point having separate army lists.
That being said, there is a Chaos drop pod in the Imperial Armour books, with a model available from Forgeworld.
Cheers bud. That kind clears up the situation.
I can see your point about the Drop pods, but I'd quite like to use one. I mean most of the vehicles Marines have Chaos have too anyway. I would quite like to drop my Nurgle boys straight into a fight.
Thanks for the comment.
|
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/09 05:01:34
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
Philadelphia, PA, USA
|
I like to assume Chaos accidentally burned all their Drop Pods on Istvaan V...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/09 12:37:11
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
LoL! Good call.
|
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/09 16:22:12
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
Klueless wrote:He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
Teleport homer does that.
Klueless wrote:I see in the rules that it says the beacon must be on the table at the start of the turn but as technically the turn has already started then surely it won't work?
Opt1: reserves are rolled in before the start of the turn
Opt2: Roll off?
Klueless wrote:Also, on the same subject. That would also mean that you can 'leapfrog' units onto the table yes?
how many reserves did this guy get?
Klueless wrote:Any thoughts?
If you're not happy, roll off.
otherwise, ask your FLGS.
Klueless wrote:Also, why don't chaos have a drop pod!?! Whats with that?
Chaos are borne of the warp. they don't have the recources to create DP.
Cheers.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/09 22:41:27
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Captain Solon wrote:
Klueless wrote:He then proceeds to drop some Marnies next to it that don't scatter because of the beacon. Can he do that?
Teleport homer does that.
Only if it was already on the board at the start of the turn. There is no grey area here... the other player was wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/10 11:12:26
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
I'm glad you said that mate because from Captain Solon's description it would seem that my opponent could make that maneuver. The whole question can basically be summed up as.... Does a locator beacon or another armies equivalent allow units to appear & not scatter on the first turn. It would seem not.
Plenty of people seem to think otherwise though.
Captain solon - "Chaos are borne of the warp. they don't have the recources to create DP."
Don't they steal all their equipment anyway??? I'm sure they do.
Thanks for your other questions too mate. I guess the best thing to do in any situation if 2 players can't decide on something is roll off. Good advice there.
I am tempted to disagree with your comment about the 'homer beacon' though I'm afraid. It would seem that the general consensus is that the beacon/icon etc etc has to be ON the table at the start of the turn, & although reserves are rolled before the turn/ at the start, the don't arrive until the turn has started, hence the reason arriving from reserve counts as the unit moving.
Thanks again.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/01/10 11:21:22
"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/10 11:52:50
Subject: Drop Pods, personal icons etc.....
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Captain Solon - the rules are VERY clear that the Teleport Homer / Beacon must *already* be on the table for you to use it - no need to roll off.
In addition Dreadclaws, a variant created to aid boarding just at the time of the Heresy, are used exclusively by chaos. This could be because they had a habit of eating loyalist marines....
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|