Switch Theme:

Can Multiple Rune Priests Benefit from the same Chooser of the Slain?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scrap Thrall





As the title says, are multiple Rune Priests able to benefit from the BS increase offered by a Chooser of the Slain Marker? If an army list included multiple Choosers, would you have to designate which Rune Priest "owns" which marker (as the rules on p36 only seem to reference a single Chooser on the battlefield)?

Thanks for your help.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Reading over the rule just now, here's my response:

You only get to place one marker, because it says "An army which includes a Chooser of the Slain may place a marker ..." If it said that the Chooser could place a marker, or that it could place a marker per Chooser, then you would be able to place multiple markers.

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






solkan wrote:Reading over the rule just now, here's my response:

You only get to place one marker, because it says "An army which includes a Chooser of the Slain may place a marker ..." If it said that the Chooser could place a marker, or that it could place a marker per Chooser, then you would be able to place multiple markers.

Wow, I hadn't even considered this prior to now but it looks like solkan is right, "The army" is what gets to place the model in a given condition, that condition being that the army must include a chooser of the slain. Including further ones doesn't make a difference, because the requirements for placing the marker were already met.

The rule then goes on to refer to a singular rune priest as getting the shooting bonus, which only complicates matters further, and the first question remains relevant, does the chooser you get to place affect all rune priests, or only a nominated rune priest whose chooser is being "used" so to speak? I couldn't say for sure which of these would be more correct.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yup, you only get 1 Chooser "mark", but each rune priest individually benefits. The Reason the description is in singular is so that 4 rune priests don't get the benefit when only one is in LoS.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: