| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/12 05:08:09
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
I noticed under the rules for the Things-Catcher, that it grants the model Killing Blow. A Master Moulder can have a Things-Catcher and a Tail-Weapon. Would the tail weapon attack benefit from Killing Blow?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/12 05:16:47
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
I believe Tail-Weapons specifically say that it adds a single mundane attack, but I could be wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/12 05:39:47
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
Here's the wording of the relevant part;
"It can be used in addition to other attacks including an additional hand weapon, or even a magic weapon, although it gains no magical properties"
A Things-Catcher isn't a magic weapon, so there's no magical properties to gain.
Since it grants the model killing blow, it seems like it should affect all attacks made by that model.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/12 22:42:38
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The tail weapon appears to be a separate 'hand' weapon. I'd have to say that attacks made with the tail weapon do not get killing blow.
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/12 23:40:14
Subject: Re:Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Yeah, to be safe I'd probably roll the non-Things-Catcher attacks separately.
I imagine there's nothing in the rules either way, though, so you'll get plenty of people who will tell you to go wild on it. Suit yourself either way.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 20:29:56
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Vengis wrote:A Things-Catcher isn't a magic weapon, so there's no magical properties to gain.
Though the T-C is a two-handed weapon, and I don't think you could convince me that the tail-weapon somehow combines with it for anything. What's the wording on a gw? Could the tail weapon give the MM another attak at S +2? Ultimately though, despite the cheeky rules push that this is, I don't think I'd mind it too badly. A T-C is wildly overcosted @ 20 pts, so if you took a 58 (61?) point master moulder I'd be too busy applauding you to worry overly about a 3rd KB attak - Salvage
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/13 20:30:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:51:20
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
I probably should have included the rest of the wording for tail weapons. The wording for tail weapons is;
"A model with this additional blade, spike or mace can make an additional S3 attack at the user's WS and I. It can be used in addition to other attacks including an additional hand weapon, or even a magic weapon, although it gains no magical properties"
The relevant wording of a things-catcher is;
"A things-catcher requires two hands to wield and confers the Killing Blow ability. "
The reason this occurred to me is that the t-c confers the KB ability to the model, and it is not an aspect of the weapon itself. So any attacks made by the model should benefit from KB. That's my stance on it anyways.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:59:56
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Vengis wrote:I probably should have included the rest of the wording for tail weapons. The wording for tail weapons is;
"A model with this additional blade, spike or mace can make an additional S3 attack at the user's WS and I. It can be used in addition to other attacks including an additional hand weapon, or even a magic weapon, although it gains no magical properties"
The relevant wording of a things-catcher is;
"A things-catcher requires two hands to wield and confers the Killing Blow ability. "
The reason this occurred to me is that the t-c confers the KB ability to the model, and it is not an aspect of the weapon itself. So any attacks made by the model should benefit from KB. That's my stance on it anyways.
This is another case where rules as written ('confers killing blow ability) and logic (how does a tail weapon gain killing blow just because you have a things-cather in hand?) collide. Play it to taste.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 02:00:56
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
If this model had a thing-catcher and a ranged weapon, would you get killing blow with the ranged weapon?
|
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 02:32:28
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
No, as the book specifically says that Killing Blow working with ranged attacks has to be specified by the relevant army book entry.
Vulcan, you could say that it's the way that the t-c and the tail weapon interact. Maybe the skaven trips the opponent with his tail, and that gives him an opening.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 02:38:58
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
We can push this further: How about KB on the whip that the moulder keeps around? Though RAW he can't actually ride behind the ogres, so no KB whip attak from behind ... Or what about using the whip as an ahw (p.53) to get a 4th KB attak? The catcher just sits on his back and generates all the KB he needs - Salvage
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/14 02:39:45
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 03:13:24
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
That's tricky. My first instinct is to cry 'stupid', but reading through it, those are the same as my question.
RAW, I think KB would be applied to all of those. I wouldn't play it that way, personally. I think once he's not even using it, that's when it gets in the way of logic, as Vulcan said.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/15 00:25:00
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Vengis wrote:No, as the book specifically says that Killing Blow working with ranged attacks has to be specified by the relevant army book entry.
Vulcan, you could say that it's the way that the t-c and the tail weapon interact. Maybe the skaven trips the opponent with his tail, and that gives him an opening.
Like I said, play to taste.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/18 10:25:00
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Mighty Chosen Warrior of Chaos
|
Vengis wrote:I noticed under the rules for the Things-Catcher, that it grants the model Killing Blow. A Master Moulder can have a Things-Catcher and a Tail-Weapon. Would the tail weapon attack benefit from Killing Blow?
By RAW, it seems that it does. Hopefully Skaven FAQ will clear this up, altough there's so much stuff to be clarified there... It's a similiar situation to chaos sorcerers benefitting from rending sword rerolls with magic missiles and WoC FAQ didn't touch that issue at all, so it may end up for the players/ TOs to decide.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/18 10:25:58
...silence |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 16:55:37
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I don't think KB would apply at all. The general rule of thumb in WH is that the special abilities of a weapon apply only to that weapon's attacks, not to the model in general. Like folks who try to argue that a weapon which allows the bearer to re-roll wounds lets him also re-roll wounds with his spells or shooting attacks. It's just not so. The wording may be mildly ambiguous, but it's a bad road to start down.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 20:20:35
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
I agree with Mannahnin, and this is how I plan to play it with my skaven.
I figure I take a Master Moulder who has 2 base attacks, he has a thing catch which is a weapon that itself has KB. He himself without it does not. I guy him a daily weapon. I would roll the 2 KB attacks seperate from the tail weapon, and would not apply KB to tail weapon.
It makes sense. I have a knife in my right hand. I swing with that hand, it can stab you. I swing with my fist which is my left hand, my fist cannot stab you. Its a basic analogy, but I think it makes the point.
|
Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/22 20:24:01
Subject: Master Moulder and Killing Blow
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
It's notably different from 40k, though, in which the second weapon just gives you +1A with the first, using all the first's properties.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|