Switch Theme:

Different Guard artillery platform in the same unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






I have been wanting to have a griffon as a guiding unit for a artillery battery for some time, but I was discussing this with another player and something came up neither one of us could answer.

Lets say you have a griffon and a colossus, you fire the griffon exactly 24 inches and it scatters 6 inches back towards the battery, its now time to place the colossus shot but its within 24 so can it no longer be fired? Or is its minimum range checked with the griffons shot? What if the colossus fired first at 49" but scattered back into range for the griffon? I guess the question is are all ranges checked with the ranging shot or each individual artillery piece when its their time to fire

-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

Ranges and minimum ranges are measured from every vehicle to the first shot

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Volkov wrote:I have been wanting to have a griffon as a guiding unit for a artillery battery for some time, but I was discussing this with another player and something came up neither one of us could answer.

Lets say you have a griffon and a colossus, you fire the griffon exactly 24 inches and it scatters 6 inches back towards the battery, its now time to place the colossus shot but its within 24 so can it no longer be fired? Or is its minimum range checked with the griffons shot? What if the colossus fired first at 49" but scattered back into range for the griffon? I guess the question is are all ranges checked with the ranging shot or each individual artillery piece when its their time to fire
Page 32: If the centre of the marker is placed by the firer within the minimum range (before rolling for scatter),
the shot misses automatically and is removed.

Nothing within the Multiple Barrage rules overrides this, so it still applies.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate



Ohio

On this same topic i have a question.

If i have a group consisting of a 2 basilisks and 1 griffon, and a target is within 36" could i choose to indirect fire with the griffon (since it cannot direct fire) and still direct fire with the basilisks?

If so, each shot resolves separately, not as a barrage correct?

- 2,000
- 1250

Interested in a fluff based vassal league? Email me at skarousis.league@gmail.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The first shot resolves as a barrage weapon, as you are firing indirectly. The other shots, as long as they have LOS, can fire directly - however as you point out it is not a Multiple Barrage, so each shot woudl resolve independently.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: