Switch Theme:

Transports and Infilitrate  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran





Arlington, VA

Suppose I have a transport with the Infilitrate USR. Can I still infilitrate it with passengers inside? I thought that I could, but wanted to double-check.

Check out my blog for bat reps and pics of my Ultramarine Honorguard (Counts as GK) Army!
Howlingmoon wrote:Good on you for finally realizing the scum that is tournament players, Warhammer would really be better off if those mongrels all left to play Warmachine with the rest of the anti-social miscreants.
combatmedic wrote:Im sure the only reason Japan lost WW2 was because the US failed disclose beforehand they had Tactical Nuke special rule.

 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






What transport? As far as I can find, no transport has the Infiltrate special rule. The rule book even goes to state a unit with the USR in a transport can not perform the ability if they are embarked.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran





Arlington, VA

InquisitorFabius wrote:What transport? As far as I can find, no transport has the Infiltrate special rule. The rule book even goes to state a unit with the USR in a transport can not perform the ability if they are embarked.


Land Speeder Storms have it for example, but their only allowable passengers already have infilitrate. A Plantetary Empires asset allows you to give units any USR you want, so it's possible to have infilitrating LRs and stuff. So for this example, the unit in the LR wouldn't have infilitrate... the LR itself would. The rule on page 75 of the BRB states:

If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infilitrate.


My interpretation of that rule was that it was to prevent putting Scouts in a non-infilitrate LR and then infilitrating the Scouts (and LR). Does that make sense?

Check out my blog for bat reps and pics of my Ultramarine Honorguard (Counts as GK) Army!
Howlingmoon wrote:Good on you for finally realizing the scum that is tournament players, Warhammer would really be better off if those mongrels all left to play Warmachine with the rest of the anti-social miscreants.
combatmedic wrote:Im sure the only reason Japan lost WW2 was because the US failed disclose beforehand they had Tactical Nuke special rule.

 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

i could see someone arguing the answer both ways reasonably but i fall in the "yes you can" camp personally. although it's not a USR, transport effectively grant deepstrike to units in them that don't have that ability so i don't see why they wouldn't still be able to use scout or infiltrate if the embarked troops don't have it.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gornall wrote:
InquisitorFabius wrote:What transport? As far as I can find, no transport has the Infiltrate special rule. The rule book even goes to state a unit with the USR in a transport can not perform the ability if they are embarked.


Land Speeder Storms have it for example, but their only allowable passengers already have infilitrate. A Plantetary Empires asset allows you to give units any USR you want, so it's possible to have infilitrating LRs and stuff. So for this example, the unit in the LR wouldn't have infilitrate... the LR itself would. The rule on page 75 of the BRB states:

If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infilitrate.


My interpretation of that rule was that it was to prevent putting Scouts in a non-infilitrate LR and then infilitrating the Scouts (and LR). Does that make sense?


Land Speeder Storms do not have infiltrate, they have the Scouts special rule, which is very different. The issue with a vehicle with Infiltrate (which as said, doesn't exist normally) deploying with a unit inside is that, you can't "declare" a unit to be deploying inside a vehicle, you can only deploy the vehicle then proceed to deploy a unit inside it, or hold them in reserves and declare them to be together. So if a vehicle had Infiltrate, no it could not infiltrate with a unit inside.

However, with Scouts, the vehicle can make a scout move with embarked models that don't have scouts, and in either situation the vehicle could outflank with a unit on board that isn't normally allowed to outflank.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran





Arlington, VA

Ah... I thought the LSS had infilitrate for some reason. But what you said makes sense. I was under the impression that you deployed the vehicle and unit together, but it seems that is only for reserves.

However, could you infilitrate SM Scouts inside a LR with infilitrate?

Check out my blog for bat reps and pics of my Ultramarine Honorguard (Counts as GK) Army!
Howlingmoon wrote:Good on you for finally realizing the scum that is tournament players, Warhammer would really be better off if those mongrels all left to play Warmachine with the rest of the anti-social miscreants.
combatmedic wrote:Im sure the only reason Japan lost WW2 was because the US failed disclose beforehand they had Tactical Nuke special rule.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gornall wrote:Ah... I thought the LSS had infilitrate for some reason. But what you said makes sense. I was under the impression that you deployed the vehicle and unit together, but it seems that is only for reserves.

However, could you infilitrate SM Scouts inside a LR with infilitrate?
If you can somehow give a Land Raider Infiltrate, then yeah I figure the scouts would be well within their rights to infiltrate into the inside of the land raider which is also infiltrating.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Arizona

Drunkspleen wrote:
Gornall wrote:Ah... I thought the LSS had infilitrate for some reason. But what you said makes sense. I was under the impression that you deployed the vehicle and unit together, but it seems that is only for reserves.

However, could you infilitrate SM Scouts inside a LR with infilitrate?
If you can somehow give a Land Raider Infiltrate, then yeah I figure the scouts would be well within their rights to infiltrate into the inside of the land raider which is also infiltrating.


Yo dawg, I heard you like to infiltrate. So we put infiltrators in your infiltrator so you can infiltrate while you infiltrate.



Is there any predecent for an infiltrating transport carrying noninfiltrators? A friend recently picked up planetary empires and this would be good to know. It sounds reasonable but I get the feeling there's a rule being overlooked.

Edit: isn't there something similar to how IC's joining a unit can sometimes gain/lose USRs, does this fall into a similar category somewhere? CSM's Chaos Chosen can infiltrate and if they buy a rhino it can come with them when they outflank with it. Wouldn't this be the same?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 11:28:21


"I drive a big car, cuz I'm a big star. I'll make a big rock-and-roll hit." "I am a big car, and I'm a strip bar. Some call it fake, I call it good-as-it-gets."

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Gandair wrote:Is there any predecent for an infiltrating transport carrying noninfiltrators? A friend recently picked up planetary empires and this would be good to know. It sounds reasonable but I get the feeling there's a rule being overlooked.


It would be dodgy at best as the transport needs be on the table before anyone can claim to embark on it. Non-infiltrators can't legally set up outside their deployment zone where the vehicle is.

Or that's my take on it from reading about Reserves and deployment.
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






There is no precedent because there are no vehicles with infiltrate as a base rule.

I feel planetstrike is like Apoc with the adherence to work it out between you(r team) and your opponent(s).



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

This question has however caused some issues with outflank but not infiltrate. I think the guard have some issue that particular rule. The Tau have infiltrating units that have to take a vehicle that can not infiltrate so how is that one handled?

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






What Tau unit are you talking about?



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Fishboy wrote:This question has however caused some issues with outflank but not infiltrate. I think the guard have some issue that particular rule. The Tau have infiltrating units that have to take a vehicle that can not infiltrate so how is that one handled?
Tau with dedicated transports may outflank (read the outflank rules) so long as they are in the transport it may also outflank. (pathfinders with scout)

100% RAW if a vehicel may infiltrate then only infiltrating units may be placed inside them. This is because the rules for deployment are really bad and the only way you can start in a vehicel is to be deployed into it. Units without out flank would already have been deployed or designated as being in reserve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 17:58:14


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: