Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:32:55
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
So after the first tourney with the new nid codex we wound up finding some really strange rules problems.
First:
A Swarmlord was in combat with some eldar. A Plasma cannon shot drifts onto their combat, does the Swarm lord get a 4+ invuln?
I believe it is yes according to RAW, and No According to RAI. Your thoughts?
Second:
A Tyrgon Prime shows up and makes a hole... next turn a Pod wants to come out of the whole instead of DSing. Can it do so?
I believe RAW says yes and RAI says no. How about you?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/17 06:33:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:36:49
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Florida
|
1st - No the save is used in cc only..not against shots
2nd - Listen to what your saying.. You are saying a drop pod can come from the ground? Really?A pod ds as it own entry it can enter no other way so it can't have an option to use the trygon's tunnel because even though it's a ds as well it is also an alternative to its normal entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:44:24
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Thats RAI, back those claims up with RAW.
1. He is in combat, therefor any wounds he receives he gets a save from.
2. Whether or not it makes sense, does not matter... Logically if a plasma gunner shooting from inside a vehicle dies from a backfire it should kill everyone inside.
Also the pods do have tentacles so they could crawl through a hole given enough time...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:49:07
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
The pod rules say they MUST enter play by Deep Strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:53:10
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Mind quoting the whole rule? I sent my codex off with my brother for the night.
If I remember right it says something like any model entering from reserves can enter from the hole, instead of there normal entry.
So (at least in my mind) they hole rules replace outflank and what not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 06:56:05
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Florida
|
Clthomps wrote:Thats RAI, back those claims up with RAW.
1. He is in combat, therefor any wounds he receives he gets a save from.
2. Whether or not it makes sense, does not matter... Logically if a plasma gunner shooting from inside a vehicle dies from a backfire it should kill everyone inside.
Also the pods do have tentacles so they could crawl through a hole given enough time...
Then back your up.. because the Swarmlords save is for cc thats why he doesn't have it as a base save. The pod must enter from ds, it isn't allowed to use another form of entry. Automatically Appended Next Post: 1 - Blade Shield: 4+ Invul in CC! not from outside splash!
2 -Deep Strike, Fearless, Immobile Lash Whips and Snaring Tentacles
Limited Awareness: Never test Synapse, attacks closest ( 6" S6 Ap- Assault 6)
unit every turn unless in H2H. It can never be pinned May buy ONE of the following:
or go to ground. Thorn Volley - 10pts
Transport Spore: Deep Strikes from Reserve, if it would Thorn Blast - 10pts
land on Impasable, enemy unit, etc, move it so it Twin-Linked Deathspitter - 10pts
doesn't, just like a Drop Pod.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 06:59:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 07:03:35
Subject: Re:A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
only CC attacks give him the 4+ invul.
pods enter by space, not the ground. So no, DS that pod. Nothing else
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 07:04:29
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Florida
|
If the Trygon Deep Strikes into an Bioelectric Field (12" S5 AP5 Assault6)
enemy unit or impassable terrain, reduce the scatter Enhanced Bioelectric Field (Trygon Prime, 18" S5 AP5
by the minimum distance to avoid a mishap. Once the Assault 12)
Trygon has, place a marker the size of his base where May be upgraded to Trygon Prime for 40pts
he lands. Any infantry coming in from reserve may use May buy the following biomorphs:
the Trygon's hole instead of the table edge.
Where in you mind is a drop pod infantry?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 08:00:11
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Clthomps wrote:So after the first tourney with the new nid codex we wound up finding some really strange rules problems. First: A Swarmlord was in combat with some eldar. A Plasma cannon shot drifts onto their combat, does the Swarm lord get a 4+ invuln? I believe it is yes according to RAW, and No According to RAI. Your thoughts?
The RAI is imo pretty damn clear, I don't know about the RAW since "in close combat" isn't a very clearly defined thing, but I certainly see the point, he gets hit by the scattering blast and you check "Is The Swarmlord in close combat? Yes" Clthomps wrote:Second: A Tyrgon Prime shows up and makes a hole... next turn a Pod wants to come out of the whole instead of DSing. Can it do so? I believe RAW says yes and RAI says no. How about you?
The RAW is clear here, the spore says it "Always enters play using Deep Strike" and coming through a trygon hole isn't deep striking. Also, given it is a Monstrous Creature, it's not eligible to use the tunnel anyway.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/17 08:00:50
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/17 09:30:28
Subject: A couple of silly Tyranid questions.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
1) RaW: Yes. The Swarmlod Gets the save because, as Drunkspleen points out, you check to see if he is in close combat, if he is, he gets the save.
2) Drunkspleen pointed it out perfectly.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|