Switch Theme:

New tyranid Trygon Question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Tribune





Washington State

I just want to see where everyone stands on this subject. I think the wording is very clear on it but a guy at our GWS says differently. Im referring to the Trygon. The guy at the store argued that since Deep Strike and Reserves are different a Trygon can appear on the table, then a unit can come on from reserves through the tunnel. My interpretation of the wording is what it says, that a unit can use the tunnel to come in SUBSEQUENT turns meaning the unit coming in from reserves cant use the tunnel until the next turn.

For example under his interpretation, the Trygon would deepstrike in on turn 2, then a unit that sucessfully rolled for reserves can use the tunnel to come in on turn 2 as well.

The way I see it is a Trygon comes in by deepstriking on turn 2, then in TURN 3, the tunnel is available for use.

What do you guys think? Its pretty cut and dry to me but I didnt really wanna argue with him today as I was just there to pick up the new dex and a Trygon.

Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

I don't see the issue. The rule says, "In subsequent turns." That means, the turn after the current one.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Grumpy Longbeard




New York

Yeah, you've got it right. It's another rule that could have been cool if GW didn't make it completely suck.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




I agree with what you say. Turn 2 it shows up the on turn 3 one other unit shows up, or it shows up on Turn 3 then on turn 4 one other unit shows up after it, etc etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 02:43:00


Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Stalwart Tribune





Washington State

Ya im kinda mad about it as I wanted to make an army based on two trygons and getting my CC carnis in to the fray. Guess I have to pray for bad reserve rolls. Ick.

Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

thekerrick wrote:Ya im kinda mad about it as I wanted to make an army based on two trygons and getting my CC carnis in to the fray. Guess I have to pray for bad reserve rolls. Ick.


Which the army doesn't seem to be based around, with Hive Tyrants that add +1 to your reserve rolls, as well as Deathleaper and all sorts of deep-strike goodness.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




thekerrick wrote:Ya im kinda mad about it as I wanted to make an army based on two trygons and getting my CC carnis in to the fray. Guess I have to pray for bad reserve rolls. Ick.


Why do you want bad reserve rolls?

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Stalwart Tribune





Washington State

So I dont get all my stuff in on the second turn and can actually use the tunnels.

Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

thekerrick wrote:So I dont get all my stuff in on the second turn and can actually use the tunnels.


All the tunnel does is prevent scatter. You can't move or assault, just as if you'd deep-struck. You'd be just as safe using Lictors or a Deathleaper.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Tribune





Washington State

I understand, all Im saying is it limits a tactic of being able to get your big guys where you want them other then spores.

Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

What's more, carnifexes can't come out through the tunnel, anyhow.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Tribune





Washington State

Broken Loose wrote:What's more, carnifexes can't come out through the tunnel, anyhow.



Ick you are right, its Infantry only, which means no MC's. Gotta fine tooth comb the codex now.

Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




I was just about to say Carnifex can't go through the tunnel. I guess that was the rumours that we were going by that they could. Only infantry without wings that can go through them. I thought Ravenorers could go through but it looks like they can't either.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

Danny I have to say I love the old duck hunt avatar!!!

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: