Switch Theme:

Flamer template and multiple units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

I was at a tournament this weekend and this came up. I didn't question it just went with it cause it wasn't a game breaker or anything but here the question.

Setup

Some Chaos Marines and some Lesser Deamons are hiding out some ruins with my tactical squad getting ready to assault. I drop my template like this

to hit some Chaos Marines and a majority of Deamons. My opponent tells me I can't do that I have to target as many of the Chaos Marines if I plan to charge them like this


Is that right? I don't see anything in the rulebook

   
Made in cn
Dakka Veteran





Canada

I don't remember the rulebook dictating that you had target the majority of the unit with a flamer template...I'm pretty sure it's up to you?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







As long as you place the template as to cover the maximum possible number of models in the targeted unit, any other models from another unit are hit just fine.

Page 29 of the BRB.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/18 13:49:51


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




I am a newbie to the rules. I just read this rule. It is true, you have to hit the maxium of units you can if using template weapons.

If there is an option to hit 7 units, you have to do it that way instead of 6. But the point is moot because if a unit is under a template and takes a wound, a model that is not under the template can be removed.

So it actually works in your favor General_Chaos since you cause 7 wounds instead of 6. That means 7 unsaved wounds would have to be removed instead of 6 unsaved wounds. They get removed from the group, no what is under the template though.

Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.

Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?

Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong".  
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

Actually your opponent was correct. You must cover as many models in the target unit as possible with a template weapon. You could have declared a charge on both units and targeted the daemons if you could make it to them.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

He cannot though target much of the daemon squad in this scenario, which I believe he wanted to.

On Topic: Yes, the rule actually states that you must cover as many models in the targeted unit as possible. Except from that there is no restrictions however, so any models from other untis hit, while hitting as many as you can in the unit targeted, is perfectly fine.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: