Switch Theme:

Couple other 'Nid questions/observations. . .  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Just a few questions that I was mulling over. Didn't want to post them in one of the already started threads, as they tend to get lost in the witty banter that gets thrown back and forth. Anyway, wanted to see what the community thought of these two at least:

Can the Swarmlord target his own unit (himself or he and tyrant guards) with his Swarm Leader ability? It doesn't say you can, but it says -any- friendly unit within 18". His unit is a friendly unit, no?

Who exactly can the Deathleaper target with "It's After Me!"? All it says is enemy character. Does this indicate simply "Independent Character"? It doesn't say "Independent Character", but neither does it say "Model". All it says is Character. On page 47 of the BRB, it outline "Characters". This outline indicates that there are two forms of characters - Independent and Upgrade. So, I assume that Deathleaper can target both of these and -only- these, since those are the only two listed. Hence, the Deathleaper cannot target a Lord of Change with this, but he could target the Blue Scribes. Or even the Changeling.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/01/19 04:50:47


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Ragik






I can answer Deathleaper for you with certainty. You have it right, he can target any character, with character being defined on Pg 47. I've used him to target Sarges & their equals before, but only when the army leader is a fearless, non-psyker.

On a side note I don't really like DL, for the same points I can take 4 Raveners with Devourers.

Trade rules: lower rep trades ships 1st. - I ship within 2 business days, if it will be longer I will contact you & explain. - I will NOT lie on customs forms, it's a felony, do not ask me to mark sales as "gifts". Free shipping applies to contiguous US states. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






puma713 wrote:Just a few questions that I was mulling over. Didn't want to post them in one of the already started threads, as they tend to get lost in the witty banter that gets thrown back and forth. Anyway, wanted to see what the community thought of these two at least:

Can the Swarmlord target his own unit (himself or he and tyrant guards) with his Swarm Leader ability? It doesn't say you can, but it says -any- friendly unit within 18". His unit is a friendly unit, no?

Who exactly can the Deathleaper target with "It's After Me!"? All it says is enemy character. Does this indicate simply "Independent Character"? It doesn't say "Independent Character", but neither does it say "Model". All it says is Character. On page 47 of the BRB, it outline "Characters". This outline indicates that there are two forms of characters - Independent and Upgrade. So, I assume that Deathleaper can target both of these and -only- these, since those are the only two listed. Hence, the Deathleaper cannot target a Lord of Change with this, but he could target the Blue Scribes. Or even the Changeling.

Thoughts?


The distance between the Swarmlord and the Swarmlords unit is 0", they are friendly, thus he can use it on himself IMO. This is somewhat confused by the fact that similar wording is occasionally used with the added phrase "including X itself" but I still don't see why he wouldn't qualify for his own ability.

The Deathleaper can target enemy ICs OR Upgrage Characters, these are the two things which fall under the category Character. However, what constitutes an Upgrade Character is poorly defined, you will generally get no argument about the ability to use it on a Squad Leader or Unique Character in a squad, but the description given for Upgrade Characters simply isn't all that clear.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







puma713 wrote:Can the Swarmlord target his own unit (himself or he and tyrant guards) with his Swarm Leader ability? It doesn't say you can, but it says -any- friendly unit within 18". His unit is a friendly unit, no?
Yes.
Who exactly can the Deathleaper target with "It's After Me!"? All it says is enemy character. Does this indicate simply "Independent Character"? It doesn't say "Independent Character", but neither does it say "Model". All it says is Character. On page 47 of the BRB, it outline "Characters". This outline indicates that there are two forms of characters - Independent and Upgrade. So, I assume that Deathleaper can target both of these and -only- these, since those are the only two listed. Hence, the Deathleaper cannot target a Lord of Change with this, but he could target the Blue Scribes. Or even the Changeling.
Characters are defined on page 47 of the BRB

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

I think you could reference how the Eldar powers work too. A farseer can guide himself etc..so yeah I see no issue with DL and his power.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

You'd be surprised how many people there are out there that will say Swarmlord can't target himself... They tend to be the extremely competitive type trying to deny you everything.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

Unless they are playing that model hehehe.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: