Switch Theme:

Some more close combat questions?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Black Templar Servitor Dragging Masonry




Crusade Fleet - Amarillo, TX

Hey again, I was thumbing through my codex some more and I found a few select areas that I would very much appreciate some clarification!

My first question series is concerning grenades--the 5th Edition Codex is very very vague at how these work, and I was hoping some light could be shed on how they work. Frag grenades for example, it says, loosely, "keeps your enemies heads down"...i'm not quite sure how to interpret that, haha. Do they do damage, like krak grenades or meltabombs, or something else...? Also...when may a unit use these grenades, and, how many times may they be used? (Once per turn use? Once per the entire game?) And talking about about such things as melta bombs and krak grenades..when may they be used? Can they be used in the assault phase..? Shooting phase? Do you get to attack a unit, then use a grenade, so long as you're 1" within the vehicle?

My second little series of questions is much shorter, i'm just a bit confused as to how in close combat, units may assault "at the same time". If a two squads each, all members of each with 5 initiate engage in close combat, how would they all attack at once?

Thanks again for reading my questions, I look forward to any help on the issue . Sorry again for being noob at the rules ><. At least i'm a lore geek .
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

The grenade rules are quite clear.
Try re-reading BRB pg 36 "GRENADES" section.

For example the assault grenade rules are the last three sentences only.

To you're second question look up BRB pg 33 ASSAULT PHASE SUMMARY

Clarification: Identical initative models attack at the same time in every combat. Both friendlies and enemies.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/21 03:26:29


 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA

Frag grenades are used when an assaulting unit assaults through cover (anything that causes a difficult terrain test). The frag grenades allow you to avoid striking at Init 1 (the penalty for assaulting through cover). You can use them as many times as you want during the game (barring a special rule in your codex that says otherwise).

Grenades can also be used when assaulting a vehicle to determine armor penetration instead of using your models S+d6. I don't have my book in front of me, but when you look at the rules for grenades in there, there's a little box that tells you what to roll vs the vehicle. You must be in base contact with the vehicle to use grenades.

I believe the assault rules cover assaults "at the same time." Basically, just let one side roll first (for simplicity), but remember that any casualties taken on the defending side still get to strike back if they were close enough to begin with.

Let's expand on your example, Tac Squad A assaults Tac Squad B. Everyone ends up in base to base contact. Both squads have the same init, so will strike at the same time. So, the players decide to let Tac Squad A make his attack rolls first. Let's say that Tac Squad A kills 3 members from Tac Squad B. Now, since they're at the same init, those 3 "dead" guys get to attack b/c they haven't died yet. So, Tac Squad B makes their attacks and kill 1 member from Tac Squad A. Casualties are then removed and Tac Squad B loses by 2.

MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






VxKhamulxV wrote:Hey again, I was thumbing through my codex some more and I found a few select areas that I would very much appreciate some clarification!

My first question series is concerning grenades--the 5th Edition Codex is very very vague at how these work, and I was hoping some light could be shed on how they work. Frag grenades for example, it says, loosely, "keeps your enemies heads down"...i'm not quite sure how to interpret that, haha. Do they do damage, like krak grenades or meltabombs, or something else...? Also...when may a unit use these grenades, and, how many times may they be used? (Once per turn use? Once per the entire game?) And talking about about such things as melta bombs and krak grenades..when may they be used? Can they be used in the assault phase..? Shooting phase? Do you get to attack a unit, then use a grenade, so long as you're 1" within the vehicle?
Not sure what you mean when you say the 5th Edition Codex, do you mean the main rulebook?

Either way Assault and Defensive grenades are outlined on page 36 of the Main Rulebook, and using grenades on vehicles (this is the only way to use krak grenades and melta grenades etc.) is covered on page 63. You can use grenades as many times as you want, they don't run out, you can also use them more than once per turn, although you can't use them to do the same thing more than once per turn, so you could use Frag grenades when assaulting a Walker so that you don't suffer the Initiative penalty and then use them again in the assault for a single attack at 4+D6, but could not use multiple grenades to attack a vehicle, or make multiple grenade attacks in a single assault phase in any way.

VxKhamulxV wrote:My second little series of questions is much shorter, i'm just a bit confused as to how in close combat, units may assault "at the same time". If a two squads each, all members of each with 5 initiate engage in close combat, how would they all attack at once?
I'm not exactly sure what you are asking here, only one unit may make an assault move at a time, if you mean resolving attacks at the same time, Every model with the same initiative attacks at once. All that means is that, if a model is killed by someone with the same initiative as it, it will still get it's attacks.

If you re-word this question I might be able to help more.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Black Templar Servitor Dragging Masonry




Crusade Fleet - Amarillo, TX

zatchmo wrote:Frag grenades are used when an assaulting unit assaults through cover (anything that causes a difficult terrain test). The frag grenades allow you to avoid striking at Init 1 (the penalty for assaulting through cover). You can use them as many times as you want during the game (barring a special rule in your codex that says otherwise).

Grenades can also be used when assaulting a vehicle to determine armor penetration instead of using your models S+d6. I don't have my book in front of me, but when you look at the rules for grenades in there, there's a little box that tells you what to roll vs the vehicle. You must be in base contact with the vehicle to use grenades.

I believe the assault rules cover assaults "at the same time." Basically, just let one side roll first (for simplicity), but remember that any casualties taken on the defending side still get to strike back if they were close enough to begin with.

Let's expand on your example, Tac Squad A assaults Tac Squad B. Everyone ends up in base to base contact. Both squads have the same init, so will strike at the same time. So, the players decide to let Tac Squad A make his attack rolls first. Let's say that Tac Squad A kills 3 members from Tac Squad B. Now, since they're at the same init, those 3 "dead" guys get to attack b/c they haven't died yet. So, Tac Squad B makes their attacks and kill 1 member from Tac Squad A. Casualties are then removed and Tac Squad B loses by 2.



This cleared it up for me, thanks! I had read all of this but I guess some of it slipped while trying to take it all in. See, i've yet to actually play a game (I'm still in the process of painting my models) so my experience is pretty non existent. Thank you and thanks to everyone else for helping with the replies! Also, I was getting a bit confused because I had read some forums elsewhere where they had said defending units were given 10 initiative...I suppose this might have been a 4th Edition rule.
Edit: @Drunkspleen yeah, I had meant the main rulebook..a few things slipped by me, but everyones answers have helped clarify things a ton for me

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/21 03:48:11


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Defending units haviong their initiative raised is a 4th edition of 40k rule - now the attacker has their initiative lowered.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Which is a wonderful and much needed change that breaks Banshee Masks

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






Gwar! wrote:Which is a wonderful and much needed change that breaks Banshee Masks


*grumble grumble* i'll just take harlequins instead...

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

I don't think I've ever seen it played that Banshees don't strike first.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







MasterSlowPoke wrote:I don't think I've ever seen it played that Banshees don't strike first.
That's because you don't play by the rules RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






MasterSlowPoke wrote:I don't think I've ever seen it played that Banshees don't strike first.


Banshees strike at I=10
Banshees ignore bonus's for cover and grenades.
So Banshees (as it sadly is now) still receive the negative effects when charging through cover.

But most people agree in my FLGS that they are always I=10 in first round of combat as that was what the RAI were in the last edition.

Simple change to Banshees ignore *modifiers* for cover and grenades.
Either that or count Banshee masks as frag grenades also (so strike at normal I, which in the first round, is 10)

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

It's also not a stretch to say that defending units still get a bonus for being in terrain - the modifier affects the attacker but the defenders clearly benefit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: