Switch Theme:

Al'Rahem and Chenkov  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




So if you have conscripts in Al'Rahem's platoon and you buy 'send in the next wave' for them.
Which commanders rules take precedence to how you bring them in?

Do they arrive on your board edge, do they outflank or do you get to choose?

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Greenville, South Cacky-Lacky

Is Al'Rahem's outflanking rule dependent on them being deployed with him? Because it's a plain vanilla conscript squad that gets recycled, as I recall - any attached commander upgrades wouldn't come back with 'em.

Alles klar, eh, Kommissar? 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Nope, anyone in Al'rahem's platoon MUST outflank.

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Greenville, South Cacky-Lacky

And the text for Chenkov says "come in on their edge of the board," eh?

I'd say that because you're using Chenkov's ability, you'd have to use his deployment rule, but it could easily be argued either way... Sounds like a D6 decider!

Alles klar, eh, Kommissar? 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







I would actually say that they arrive from your board edge.

Al'rahem's rule states: Any unit that is part of Al'rahem Infantry Platoon must outflank.

Chenkov States: The new unit moves onto the board from the players board edge.

Now, which is the more specific rule? A rule that affects a whole infantry platoon, or one that affects One type of squad within an infantry platoon?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Just because a rule effects a smaller amount of models doesn't necessarily make it the one too follow though.

Chenkov just tells you where they arrive. However Al'Rahem states they MUST outflank.

I guess the way each is worded, it just seems like Al'Rahem's rule would take precedence. Just my feeling on the matter.

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

They did outflank, when they came onto the board. Their ability to come back is handled solely by Chekhov's rules.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Yes, but they come back on the board as if by reserve.

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The conscript squad that turns up is unable to Outflank, as it is a *new* unit and is therefore unable to be put into reserve - the time for declaring reserves is past.

As such it must move on from your board edge. It is also, handily, the more specific rule in this case - ALrahem affects all members of the platoon, chenkov affects a subset. This is the very definition of more specific CptZach.

No Outflanking conscripts once theyre dead.
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Sealed in a box- in a state of flux

If they could outflank, chenkov's rule would say as if coming on from reserve


DS:90-S+G++M--B--I--Pw40k06+D++A++/hWD300R++T(S)DM+
DerangdFlamingo wrote:Tau 1: Is that a black eye mate?
Tau 2: Yeah, i got lucky last night...
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




ginger_nid_dude wrote:If they could outflank, chenkov's rule would say as if coming on from reserve


I am pretty sure that it does...

Also, is there something that says the more specific rule applies?
It could be argued that Chenkov's rule just applies to all conscripts so it is just as general as Al'Rahems. TBH I don't really get the argument that one is more specific so it applies.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/21 16:05:24


Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The entire basis for the rulebook is specific > general
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




nosferatu1001 wrote:The entire basis for the rulebook is specific > general


But as I said, Chenkov's rule applies to all conscripts.
Al'Rahem's rule applies to all models in his platoon.

There is not much of a basis for which is more specific...

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But you missed my first point - which is that the unit is coming on "as if from reserves" but is not actually IN reserves, and therefore cannot Outflank - and additionally you did not declare that they were going to Outflank at the appropriate time (you could not, the new unit is exactly that - new. It did not exist before!) which further prohibits you.

As such you cannot comply with Alrahem without breaking rules, but you can comply with Chenkovs rule.
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




How does a unit (that must outflank) come in as if from reserves?

You are correct, you do need to declare you are outflanking if you are actually in reserves, but the unit is not.

So you don't really break any rules since the unit is not actually in reserves and doesn't need to be declared as outflanking.

And some special rules let you break BRB rules anyways, so I don't think that is a valid argument anyways.

Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Outflanking is only possible when coming on from Reserves


The special rules only work if they *specifically* allow you to break BRB rules - otherwise you still need to follow them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: