Switch Theme:

Avatar of Khaine Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






So this question came up my last game, The avatar of Khaine is a pretty nasty little critter, and he is a Daemon, his profile dosn't give him EW, nor does the Rulebook to my knoweldge.

The question that came up is that my friend is arguing that since he is a "Daemon" and in the Chaos Daemon Codex (the 40k one!) Daemons have 4 special rules. Fearless (which the avatar's codex entry gives him threw the fearless rule, not daemon rule) EW and Invulnerable (invul saves ftw) Deamonic Assualt, and The other is the ability to not join other deamon units of a different god (not a problem for the avatar as he is a MC as well as dosn't work with Chaos Gods anyhow)


Sooo if he follows the Daemon rules, from the Chaos Codex which he is not apart of, then does he suffer from Daemonic Assualt as well?


I am unsure how Codex A affects Codex B since the rule book + Codex is generally how it runs.


I am mostly curious since i think since his profile dosnt say EW he is not thus Force weapons + Tyranid bio upgrades could Instakill him, But i also think that since "Daemons" get super benifits i don't mind letting the big fiery guy have EW, but the Daemonic Assualt is still interesting if he follows that ruling as well


What do you all Think?




Never Say Die. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The rules in one codex do not apply to any codex but its own, no the AoW does not have EW, sorry

Loredragon2
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Thats what i thought, but still, it would rather be interesting Deep striking an avatar

Never Say Die. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

You might be able to pull that in Apoc actually Heh, cheesy.

Worship me. 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Only really matters against force weapons, and I guess bone swords now!

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Well saying the Avatar gains Daemon rules is like saying Dark Angels get 3++ Storm Shields: You can't mix the rules for Codexes. As far as I know, the Avatar is only counted as a Daemon for Daemonhunter's clariffication, as well as other wargear designed to combat Daemons.
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

That is correct. He is only a Daemon for rules that affect daemons such as psycannons etc... He has good enough rules, especially once you buff him with fortune hehe.

I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: