Switch Theme:

How would this assualt resolve?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California

Hello,

Here is what happened. This IG player had a unit of 10 troops placed inside a build. This build has 4 levels, and each level is 3 inches apart. He tried to fill in the max spaces allow per-level. 1 model on base ground level, 4 models on 2nd floor, 3 models on 3rd and 2 models on 4th. After I charged into assaulting the base level model, what is the correct way to resolve the defenders react? How many of his models are getting into the fight?

Next question might of been already written in the rule book, but I missed it. A trygon assaults an unit that's at the 2nd level of the building, but itself could not balance on that floor because the large base. Is it a legal assault? I was told that since he could not stand of that floor, so it's not base to base contact, therefore, it could not assault. I just laughed. My trygon is looking down at those guards and drooling on top of them, yet it could not assault them cause that. Something just feels wrong.

Thanks

DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games!  
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Try reading a rulebook. Pp.77-85.

Also, in English we call structures like houses and offices "buildings".
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




California

aw, typo on the building word. thx

I do not have the rulebook handy. Care to explain?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/24 18:13:47


DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games!  
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Hi. It is quite important to differentiate between a building and a ruin here. If it is indeed a building, it should have been given an AV and is treated similarly to a transport. It will have firepoints and you will have to destroy it first to get at the occupants.

If we are talking about a ruin, the levels are assumed to be 3" vertical distance apart so models will pile in from upper and lower floors to try to get into base to base contact. I assume you mean a 1st floor when you say second so every member of the squad will move up to two floors down to get to the combat provided there is space for them.

The RB does say on p83 that a MC can't enter the upper levels of the ruin if it can't be placed there, so your opponent can claim sanctuary as long as there is no model your trygon can get in btb contact with on the ground floor. Afraid if your opponent is technically right, even if it makes no sense.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/24 18:34:24


 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Ruins and Assaults, Buildings, The Rules Section, Rulebook, p.85 wrote:In some cases the ruin might genuinely be unstable or uneven, or the space could be very limited on a particular level, making it impossible to move assaulting models into base-to-base contact with the unit they wish to assault. When this happens, it is perfectly acceptable to place models as close to their foe as it safely possible, including the level below or above, providing that you place the assaulting models as close as possible to their opponents and you make clear to your opponent which of your models is in base-to-base contact with his models. We find that directly below or above works well, representing them charging up or down a flight of stairs.
   
Made in gb
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot





In the Webway.

Well if the levels are 3" apart then his unit aren't in coherency right? So he couldnt have positioned them there anyway.

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann

Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':

Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3

Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.

Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3

 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





If the levels are 3" apart, and the models are 1" tall, then yes, they would have been in coherency. See the diagram on the bottom right of p.82.
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

Yes, they could be in coherancy; you're allowed to measure from the bottom figure's head to the base of the top figure.
   
Made in us
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon





Kalamazoo

Interesting, so a tall model like a Trygon or Wraithlord cannot attack a model on the second floor, even that would put the target model at about shoulder height. Not very cinematic. I can imagine an IG platoon jumping and diving as the mammoth wriathsword sweeps across the small catwalk they are standing on and slicing the legs off the poor ammo loader weighed down by boxes of heavy bolter rounds.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Durandal wrote:Interesting, so a tall model like a Trygon or Wraithlord cannot attack a model on the second floor, even that would put the target model at about shoulder height.


Yes it can. See the rule that Nurglitch quoted 4 posts up...



 
   
Made in gb
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot





In the Webway.

Nivoglibina wrote:Yes, they could be in coherancy; you're allowed to measure from the bottom figure's head to the base of the top figure.

Ah, something else i didnt know about the rules, that ive learned today.

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann

Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':

Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3

Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.

Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: