Switch Theme:

Why is Warp Time not in the inat faq?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration






Hopping on the pain wagon

I can never remember, do you have to reroll ALL the dice or can you choose to just reroll the fails with warp time?

Kabal of the Razor's Song project log

There is a secret song at the center of the universe and its sound is like razors through flesh. 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The operative word is "may", meaning that you have choice as to whether you re-roll all, some, or none.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

It says to reroll them all.

Most people do not follow that, however.

"the psyker may re-roll all rolls to hit and rolls to wound"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/26 17:45:14


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration






Hopping on the pain wagon

Hence the reason it should be in the INAT faq...

Kabal of the Razor's Song project log

There is a secret song at the center of the universe and its sound is like razors through flesh. 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





kirsanth:

According to the quote it says "the psyker may re-roll all rolls to hit and rolls to wound" They may re-roll all rolls, they may not. If they may re-roll all rolls to hit, then they may also re-roll some rolls to hit.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Nurglitch wrote:kirsanth:
If they may re-roll all rolls to hit, then they may also re-roll some rolls to hit.
I have read that many times, but I have not found it backed very well. There are rules that say things like a unit "can (or must) re-roll failed(or even successful)" rolls which is explicit enough, but to assume that "all = some" is a stretch.

As I said, I have met precious few who play it that way however.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/26 19:14:04


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rules for rerolls in the book states you may choose which dice to reroll.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

nosferatu1001 wrote:The rules for rerolls in the book states you may choose which dice to reroll.
Correct, and it is often read to mean this allows the reroll of all to-hit without forcing the reroll. The same is said of the wound rolls.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord






Simply put, if someone tells you "you may take all the oranges from the basket", does that mean you have to take all or none? No.

Furthermore, page 2 discusses reroll rules, and the "all" certainly isnt clear enough to over ride them.

It doesnt really matter, because no one plays it as all or none.

Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





kirsanth:

Sure, but we're talking here about what the rules says. As you say most people play it so that you can choose which dice to re-roll. But how people play isn't really the issue here, the issue here is that this may be unclear enough to include in that tome of wisdom known as the INAQ FAQ.

If the rule said: 'The psycker may re-roll one roll to hit or roll to wound', what would you infer?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

The rulebook defines this very clearly. Grr. It says something not terribly far from: "The definition of a re-roll is just as it sounds. The player may pick up the dice he wishes and roll them again." If I could re-roll all, I may pick up the dice I wish from a total of all. No debates, it is done.

Worship me. 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

I can see this going either way, personally, but I think the rulebook definition of re-rolls supports that the chaos player may pick and choose.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

RAW you have to reroll all the dice. It doesn't give you a 'may', if you choose to reroll then you have to do them all. Ive had this pulled on me at GW'S GT and I felt it sucked but hey. In friendly games most poeple play it as you get the choice but you need to be aware that RAW will be used occasionaly.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The BRB tells you what is meant by a reroll, the rules for warptime do not contradict this.
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

Except for the fact that the codex tells you to reroll ALL hits and wounds. Not your misses but ALL the dice. RAW you dont get to choose.
Most people play it RAI that you reroll the misses but the rule still states ALL. It sucks if you meet the person who demands that you play it like
that, I play chaos and I usually discuss it with my opponent before hand and 99% of the time its cool.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The codex says, and I quote: "the psyker may re-roll all rolls to hit and rolls to wound"

Which, as has been pointed out is consistent with how re-rolls work in the main rulebook. You may re-roll all of them, if you so wish. And conversely you may not re-roll all of them, you may only re-roll some of them.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, you MAY choose to Re-roll ALL of them. You cannot choose to re-roll some of them.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Night Lords wrote:Simply put, if someone tells you "you may take all the oranges from the basket", does that mean you have to take all or none? No.


Strictly speaking, yes, it does.

Most people don't actually take it that way, but it is what that wording means.

"You may take any of the oranges from the basket" would allow you to choose how many to take.



The rulebook does say that you pick up the dice that you are choosing to re-roll... but that doesn't over-ride a rule stating that you must re-roll all of them. You have the choice of re-rolling or not... so in that context, the dice you are choosing to re-roll are all of them, or none of them.

This is consistent with how GW have ruled in the past, for example with unit entries where an option is given for 'all models'...


Having said that, the wording of Warp Time leaves it open to all sorts of silliness. As we discussed the last time around, the strict wording of the rule is that you re-roll all to hit and to wound rolls. Which means if you choose to re-roll your to hit rolls, you also re-roll your to wound rolls. Which is clearly pointless.

I would suspect that the vast majority of players would allow you to choose which dice to re-roll, as it's the most intuitive reading of the rule. There is an argument for re-rolling all or none, though.

 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

All of the dice have the option to be re-rolled.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nurgleboy77 wrote:All of the dice have the option to be re-rolled.
That is not what the rule says though. It says you may re-roll ALL the dice. It does not say you may re-roll some of the dice.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





'Any' is synonymous with 'all'. Nurgleboy 77 is correct.
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

The rules in the codex are very simple. You make your rolls, if you dont like them you MAY reroll them. If you chose to reroll them, you have to reroll them ALL. Even the ones that
have hit/wounded. It doesnt tend to get played like that but if your opponent demands RAW you have no arguement.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





I agree, the rules in the codex are very simple. You make your rolls, if you don't like any of them, then you may re-roll them. If you choose to re-roll them, then the second roll counts.

It gets played that way because that's what the rules say.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nurglitch wrote:'Any' is synonymous with 'all'. Nurgleboy 77 is correct.
So if someone says "In order to win ten bajillion dorrah, take all the Bananas off the Shelf", you feel that you can take a single banana and still win the bajillion dorrah?

Sorry, but English doesn't work like that, at least over here.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Irrelevant ludicrous examples aside...

You may re-roll all the dice. You roll four dice.

You may re-roll that one, that one, that one, or that one.

All of the dice have the option to be re-rolled.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/27 00:28:04


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

Nurgleboy77 wrote:Irrelevant ludicrous examples aside...

You may re-roll all the dice. You roll four dice.

You may re-roll that one, that one, that one, or that one.

All of the dice have the option to be re-rolled.


That should read
You may re-roll all the dice.You roll four dice.
You may re-roll that one, that one, that one, AND that one.
All four must be re-rolled if you take that option.
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord






Gwar! wrote:
Nurglitch wrote:'Any' is synonymous with 'all'. Nurgleboy 77 is correct.
So if someone says "In order to win ten bajillion dorrah, take all the Bananas off the Shelf", you feel that you can take a single banana and still win the bajillion dorrah?

Sorry, but English doesn't work like that, at least over here.


That's a completely different situation though. The wording isnt the same so "all" isnt in the same context.

If your boss told you that "you may spend all $500 000 of the budget on the project", it means you may spend some, none, or all of it, and is synonymous with any. It depends on the context.

In the case of the codex rule, it does mean "any"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/27 00:33:44


Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

You have £500 000 which you may spend. If you do, you have to spend it all.

RAW states you re-roll them all.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Oniwaban





Fayetteville

Yay for the useless 30 point upgrade.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/27 00:54:09


The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This is just going to keep going around in circles again.

'All' is not the same as 'Any'
They're two very different words, with two very different meanings.

All this comes down to is whether or not you think that the rules is supposed to allow you to choose which dice to re-roll, or whether it's supposed to be an all or nothing deal.

And that, until they do get around to FAQ'ing it, is simply something you will have to sort out with your opponent.

Meanwhil, since we're just going back over ground that's been thoroughly trampled before, I'm going to lock this before it gets out of hand.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: