Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 03:38:24
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
|
Hello, all.
Short time reader, first time poster. I wanted to submit this question to the Dakka Dakka hive mind.
Do I have to declare that reserves are arriving through the tunnel created by subterranean assault?
Which could cause, (I am guessing), the unites to be destroyed if the Trygon or Trygon Prime did not arrive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 04:54:25
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No. A unit can choose to arrive through the tunnel instead of arriving normally each turn. The alternative would cause problems if two or more such units would arrive on the same turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 05:07:43
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
"If units in reserve have the 'deep strike', 'scout' or 'infiltrate' special rule, the player must declare to his opponent, during army deployment, whether they are going to use their special rules to deep strike/outflank or they are going to enter from his own table edge when they will become available... This decision may not be changed later."
So by my reading, only units with those special rules have to declare, and they would be unable to come in through the tunnel anyway, because that would technically be a change of the decision.
The only unit it really applies to is Genestealers though.
Any models without those special rules are free to arrive from either your board edge or the Trygon tunnel without informing your opponent.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 05:21:35
Subject: Re:Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
|
Thanks for the reply.
It is the reserve rule that you quote that caused me to post the question, because under the rule for subterranean assault it states, "Any Tyranid infantry units (excluding those with wings) that arrive from reserve in subsequent turns may attempt to utilise this tunnel network and emerge form it instead of arriving as normal."
So, is "normal" how you declared them to come on, or, is "normal" walking on from board edge?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 06:31:40
Subject: Re:Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
'Normal' is the default reserve rule - entering play from your board edge.
Anything needs another special rule, and can't be considered normal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 06:54:14
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can see either interpretation being a valid read of the rules. Something worth clarifying pre-game for sure though.
Neither reading is abusive enough to stand out as an issue, so I'd personally be inclined to let the Tyranid player do it either way till its better defined (via FAQ).
Jack
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/27 21:44:00
The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 07:32:16
Subject: Re:Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
BRB p94, Arriving From Reserves - When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's table edge (unless it's deep striking or outflanking).
Deep Strike and Outflank are exceptions from the normal method. Trygons can't change the arrival method of those units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/27 14:49:36
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
See my FAQ for the answer and more!
TYR.50.01 – Q: Can models arriving from reserve via Deep Strike opt to arrive via “Subterranean Assault” instead?
A: Yes, though remember that models with Wings still cannot use it. [Clarification]
• It can, however, be interpreted that the use of “instead of arriving as normal” precludes its use by Deep Striking units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/27 14:49:51
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 11:10:41
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Chicago area
|
The rule says to place a marker and you can deploy within 6" of marker. Is there a standard size for this or is it considered the size of the base of the creature which I think is 5" by 3". Also as the base is not round if its the same size the oriantation is how it came out and stays that way.
Or are the talking about the 3" blast marker?
As it might be the difference between a 17" by 15" oval and if small creature base of 1" it would be a 13" by 13" area.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 13:08:16
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The marker is the size of a Trygon base. I'd suggest making a suitable crater based on plasticard if you plan on using the Trygon hole.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 15:17:58
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Do I have to declare that reserves are arriving through the tunnel created by subterranean assault?
Which could cause, (I am guessing), the unites to be destroyed if the Trygon or Trygon Prime did not arrive.
This would never occur as you can't arrive through the tunnel until a turn after the Trygon has arrived...
The tunnel has to be there at the start of your turn to be used in effect, so whether you declare then or as they arrive doesn;t make any difference.
Unless you are asking if you have to declare before the game starts like for DSing units in which case no you don't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 16:51:19
Subject: Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
It does say "instead of arriving as normal" which I take to mean you choose to try it when the tunnel is available.
edit: provided, ofc, that you're not already waiting to arrive by some other special form of reserve deployment such as deepstrike
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/28 21:04:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/29 02:00:24
Subject: Re:Declaring Reserves with Subterranean Assault
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
|
Unless you are asking if you have to declare before the game starts like for DSing units in which case no you don't.
Yep, that is what I was referring to.
The rule says to place a marker and you can deploy within 6" of marker. Is there a standard size for this or is it considered the size of the base of the creature which I think is 5" by 3". Also as the base is not round if its the same size the oriantation is how it came out and stays that way.
I would think that the hole would be the same size, shape and orientation of the base. Since it would seem kinda weird to have a Trygon bursting out of the ground from a hole smaller than it self.
|
|
 |
 |
|