Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 12:31:29
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Just saw someone mention this on another site, and realised I might have been playing it wrong, so hoping to get opinions on this.
The Talos' Skimmer rule says:
"The Talos can move over difficult terrain without penalty. However, if it starts or finishes its move in difficult terrain it will suffer a wound with no save on a D6 roll of 1."
Does this apply to all movements, meaning when it assaults "through" difficult terrain, it will not be reduced to Initiative 1, since it didn't roll a difficult or dangerous terrain test (Although the rules it follows are awfully similar to a Dangerous Terrain test it is not referred to as such).
OR Does this only apply to the movement phase, meaning when assaulting it just follows standard Monstrous Creature rules, and will have reduced Initiative but will not have to risk a wound for assaulting into difficult terrain.
Also, this is related and the answer would (I assume) be the same as the one for assaulting but with regards to Run movements, does the risk of a wound still apply?
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 12:33:50
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yes, it is not slowed by difficult terrain but has to take a dangerous terrain test if it starts or ends in difficult terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 12:38:04
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Except as mentioned it is not labelled as a Dangerous Terrain test, and to call it such would be akin to calling a standard Leadership Test a Morale Check.
Thanks for the feedback though.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 12:47:39
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Not quite - a morale check is a subset of leadership checks, with rules that tell you what to do when you pass or fail. The Talos's test is functionally equivalent to a Dangerous Terrain test.
If you were to play a game of Cities of Death and took a stratagem that allowed you to reroll failed Dangerous Terrain tests, I'd say you would be well within your rights to reroll a failed Talos test. It's similar to how some older codexes tell you have wargear that forces a unit to take a leadership test, and that unit will be pinned if the test is failed. That is, for all intents and purposes, a Pinning Check, so other special rules that effect Pinning Checks would apply to that wargear.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/28 12:48:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 13:43:15
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
While it is functioanlly equivalent, it is NOT the same. As such you I is not dropped as you did not fulfill the criteria for dropping your I.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/28 13:52:43
Subject: How does a Talos interact with Cover when assaulting?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yup. It's similar, but not the same. No test means no reduces Initiative
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|