Switch Theme:

Wolf Tail Talisman  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

I have a Space Wolf unit with a Rune Priest in a LRC who also has a WTT.

Zoey's in a pod drop down and try to use Warp Blast (or any psychic power for that matter).

I get to try and stop it with the Priest's 4+ ability so long as it originates from within 24" of the vehicle's hull, then I get to try and stop it with the WTT's 5+ ability.

Correct, or it does not work within a vehicle? The rule states it works against any unit the character possessing it is with. I would interpret that to include a transport vehicle as the character is with that unit.

If I have multiple WTT's does each of them get to try and stop the psychic power? Again, just as each Rune Priest let you try and stop a power (until they FAQ'd it) this to me reads strictly as an ability that is conferred by EACH WTT.

What sayeth Dakka?


   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Reecius wrote:I have a Space Wolf unit with a Rune Priest in a LRC who also has a WTT.

Zoey's in a pod drop down and try to use Warp Blast (or any psychic power for that matter).

I get to try and stop it with the Priest's 4+ ability so long as it originates from within 24" of the vehicle's hull, then I get to try and stop it with the WTT's 5+ ability.

Correct, or it does not work within a vehicle? The rule states it works against any unit the character possessing it is with. I would interpret that to include a transport vehicle as the character is with that unit.

If I have multiple WTT's does each of them get to try and stop the psychic power? Again, just as each Rune Priest let you try and stop a power (until they FAQ'd it) this to me reads strictly as an ability that is conferred by EACH WTT.

What sayeth Dakka?

A WTT does not work inside a vehicle. A WTT only works if the Power targets the model with the WTT or the unit he is with. Being embarked on a transport is NOT being part of the transport unit. The Rune Weapon will work from the transport however.

Multiple WTT work (i.e. you get 1 attempt per WTT), as they were not errata'd. I suggest you read the SW FAQ. They did errata Rune Priests. Now you only get 1 attempt no matter how many priests there are.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/01 23:53:47


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Thanks GWAR!, you da man.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Reecius wrote:Thanks GWAR!, you da man.
No worries. Just remember to check the SW FAQ. Edited in a Comment about the Priests while you replied

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

OK cool, that is how I read it also.

   
Made in it
Dakka Veteran




I'm gonna disagree with Gwar! a little on this one. Only that the WTT does not need the the unit in question to be *targeted* but *affected* by a psychic power as per RAW. The quote snippet is as follows:

"If a model with a Wolf Tail Talisman or the unit he is with is affected by an enemy psychic power, roll a D6. On the roll of a 5+ the power is nullified."

So, basically if a psychic power shoots a vehicle than the Talisman may *not* be used. But if a psychic power has a 'radial' affect or other affects which can interact with the inside squad then the talisman save my be made for the embarked unit.

EDIT: Just to elevate any confusion, Gwar! did answer the above examples correctly. I just wanted to make sure the OP understood (in case he does not own a SW codex) how the WTT works and not just in a specific example provided.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/02 09:20:18


DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: