Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 06:50:19
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Hi guys,
I just want a better understanding on the impaler cannon vs. cover save ruling.
When a hive guard shooting from behind of a friendly, does the enemy unit get cover save? On the rule book, it stated any part of the target model's body is obscured from the point of view of the firer, the target model is in cover. However, impaler cannon don't need line of sight. Quote from the tyranid codex, "The target can only count the benefits of cover they are in or touching if it lies between them and the Hive Guard." Does that mean a terrain piece that the enemy unit is in (inside) or touching?
Thanks
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 06:52:55
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
New Player wrote:"The target can only count the benefits of cover they are in or touching if it lies between them and the Hive Guard." Does that mean a terrain piece that the enemy unit is in (inside) or touching?
That is exactly what it means. Hive Guard firing through other units does not allow the target unit to take cover saves unless they are in or touching terrain.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 13:42:34
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
Gwar! wrote:That is exactly what it means. Hive Guard firing through other units does not allow the target unit to take cover saves unless they are in or touching terrain.
Gwar, I'm surprised. You're endorsing the RAI? The impaler cannon rule says nothing about terrain. It says cover and as cover is defined on pg 21 obscuration is cover so by RAW units out of LOS get cover saves from the impaler cannon. Clearly not the intent, but it's the RAW.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 13:57:30
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cover they are in /- In cover
One requires something physical, the other doesn't
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 14:00:24
Subject: Re:Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
Cover is cover. Cover they are in. They are in cover. No difference. Well, "cover they are in" is bad English. It's properly expressed as "cover in which they are."
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 14:04:51
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Name that movie quote:
"Isn't that the trailer off in which they were whacking?"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 14:35:13
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Clinton, TN
|
This is very similar to the old Tau smart missile systems debate with two sides: Basically there is Gwar's side which refers to the physical object of cover and there is Arschbombe's side, which refers to the status of being in cover. It's kinda gridlocked if I recall. Do some SMS searches and you can decide for yourself.
Also: Beavis and Butthead Do America
|
Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500
"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 14:56:24
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
SMS does not say "only", iirc.
But still.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 15:58:29
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Ohio
|
Is there a distinction between being 'in' cover and being able to take a cover save?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 16:03:54
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
TakeABow wrote:Is there a distinction between being 'in' cover and being able to take a cover save?
Yes.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 16:10:13
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Ohio
|
Gwar! wrote:TakeABow wrote:Is there a distinction between being 'in' cover and being able to take a cover save?
Yes.
Can you elaborate? I'm nowhere near my rulebook at the moment.
If the distinction for 'in' cover means physical terrain, then I agree with your interpretation of the rules here. Also it does specifically mention 'in' or 'touching', notably not 'behind'.
Edit, it appears that they would always get cover from stuff they are behind, since that isn't ruled out by the RAW, only things they are 'touching' or in'' are subject to this special rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/02 16:12:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/02 16:21:02
Subject: Regarding Impaler cannon.
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
TakeABow wrote:Can you elaborate? I'm nowhere near my rulebook at the moment.
You can get cover saves from wargear like the KFF or a venomthrope special rule, for example.
If the distinction for 'in' cover means physical terrain, then I agree with your interpretation of the rules here. Also it does specifically mention 'in' or 'touching', notably not 'behind'.
Edit, it appears that they would always get cover from stuff they are behind, since that isn't ruled out by the RAW, only things they are 'touching' or in'' are subject to this special rule.
Behind is a relative term. A unit can be next to a piece of cover and be in front of it with respect to one firing unit and behind it with respect to another firing unit. Physical cover counts as long as the unit is touching it and it lies between the firer and the target unit making the unit behind that cover.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
 |
 |
|