Switch Theme:

A word in your ear + unit in a transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Chicago

Can you use 'a word in your ear' to pull a unit out of a transport at the start of the game?


DT:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k00+D++A(WTF)/areWD100R+++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Voluntary disembarking can only happen in the movement phase, so no.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Strictly speaking no. Disembarking (or embarking) is not part of moving up to 6'', it's something else.

While it does seem logical that the false orders etc could result in a unit leaving it's transport (or boarding a vehicle) the Word doesn't actually say anything about it. You'd need to agree on that part with your opponent - perhaps he too has some special rule that he wants to talk about?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Chicago

Spetulhu wrote:Strictly speaking no. Disembarking (or embarking) is not part of moving up to 6'', it's something else.

While it does seem logical that the false orders etc could result in a unit leaving it's transport (or boarding a vehicle) the Word doesn't actually say anything about it. You'd need to agree on that part with your opponent - perhaps he too has some special rule that he wants to talk about?


assuming I'm not using this tactic in any official tournys and only want to use it while being a total against friends...is there anything in the rules that would lead to not being able to do it? I've checked the FAQs and it doesn't seem to mention anything around doing this...are there any other units that have a similar ability that I might be able to cross reference?


DT:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k00+D++A(WTF)/areWD100R+++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

there is nothing in that rule that actually say you CAN affect an embarked unit. also as stated above, disembarking is not a regular move as it can be done in addition to it. doing it is a separate action with specific details as to when and if it can be done. your power or the general rules would have to mention that you CAN do it in order to actually do it. there is no instance of a unit rule allowing someone to affect an embarked unit that i can think of. using the reasoning of "it doesn't say i can't" would allow you to place the unit 6" UNDER the table as long as you stay within the 12" or table quarter of the appropriate deployment zone.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Chicago

warboss wrote:there is nothing in that rule that actually say you CAN affect an embarked unit. also as stated above, disembarking is not a regular move as it can be done in addition to it. doing it is a separate action with specific details as to when and if it can be done. your power or the general rules would have to mention that you CAN do it in order to actually do it. there is no instance of a unit rule allowing someone to affect an embarked unit that i can think of. using the reasoning of "it doesn't say i can't" would allow you to place the unit 6" UNDER the table as long as you stay within the 12" or table quarter of the appropriate deployment zone.


I like this under the table idea...I think the ability should just function like the old fantasy high magic that allowed you to drop terrian on a unit... this thread can be closed


DT:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k00+D++A(WTF)/areWD100R+++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





The unit is not on the table so you can not effect them with skills or powers.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







broxus wrote:The unit is not on the table so you can not effect them with skills or powers.
That is not actually why it can't be affected.

It cannot be affected because in order to Disembark from a vehicle, the unit has to have begun it's movement phase aboard a Transport. A Word in you Ear takes place before the first movement phase ever starts, so the unit did not start their movement phase aboard a transport, so cannot disembark.

Page 67:
A unit that begins its Movement phase aboard a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gwar, not debating that is correct also you but you cant also tell a unit to move that isnt on the table regardless.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







broxus wrote:Gwar, not debating that is correct also you but you cant also tell a unit to move that isnt on the table regardless.
By that logic models may never disembark.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





But there are rules that tell you how to disembark. Just like how to come in from reserves and deepstrike. All are ways for units to enter the gaming table.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




broxus wrote:But there are rules that tell you how to disembark. Just like how to come in from reserves and deepstrike. All are ways for units to enter the gaming table.


Yes, and those rules say . . . That voluntary disembarking is only done in the movement phase. Which is what GWAR was just saying

Gwar: I'm going to quit while I can.

Meh, close enough  
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





I know that and am not arguing it, but ALSO you cant move a unit that isnt even on the board yet. Both are valid reasons why you cant move them.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine




broxus wrote:I know that and am not arguing it, but ALSO you cant move a unit that isnt even on the board yet. Both are valid reasons why you cant move them.


Though the unit isn't physically 'on the board'... they are embarked in a vehicle that is physically 'on the board' so by extension the units embarked are also 'on the board'.


I'm sure there is nothing 'in writing' on this, but if this wasn't so, then Gwar is correct in his interpretation of what you are stating.... a unit would NEVER be able to disembark because it was NEVER on the board to begin with....

The vehicle would have an embarked unit essentially in limbo.


But to the original question....

I believe the concensus is:

A Callidus Assassin cannot use his "A Word In Your Ear" ability on an embarked unit to force that embarked unit to disembark because the action of disembarking can only be done in a Movement phase (A unit that begins its Movement phase aboard a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved.). This is because "A Word In Your Ear" action happens after deployment, after Infiltrate deployment and 'at the same time' (dice off to determine who does what first [as per IFAQ]) as Scout moves BUT before any phases for a regular turn occur.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/02 17:29:34


 
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yep, I guess people in reserves and that are in drop pods are in limbo and cant come on the board also?

Whatever makes you happy the answer is still no either way.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







broxus wrote:Yep, I guess people in reserves and that are in drop pods are in limbo and cant come on the board also?

Whatever makes you happy the answer is still no either way.
Actually, that is what you were saying.

you cant also tell a unit to move that isnt on the table regardless.

Those were your exact words.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in iq
Longtime Dakkanaut





Let me clarify to make it easier to understand.

Your opponent cant tell you to move a unit 6" that isnt on the table.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






True, Your opponent cant tell you to move a unit 6" that isn't on the table, but a unit in a transport is on the table by proxy of the hull of said vehicle.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: