Switch Theme:

Njal Stormcaller affecting units in transports?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Since it's now apparent we can hits things in transports, I'm guessing Njal Stormcaller's 7+ ability will do both d6 S8 hits to a transport AND d6 S8 hits to anything inside of it?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Except that it doesn't affect units out of his LOS, which is what embarked units are to him.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 07:10:48


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Ok so let me get this straight.

You can't do things to enemies out of LOS.

Unless you have a special rule that ALLOWS you to do things to enemies out of LOS. Right? Pretty much? Constant mention of "permissive ruleset" etc? Hence the Hive Guard specifying that they don't need LOS, certain eldar powers specifying they don't need LOS? Ok good.

So here we have this power of Njal's. It says EVERY unengaged unit within 12". So this immediately brings up the debate of "well it says every" "but they have to be within LOS, permissive ruleset, blah blah" Ok, so GW makes extra sure to say that he needs LOS to units in order to use them. Phew, dodged a bullet.

Enter new ability. VERY similar wording, each unit. Doesn't specify that he doesn't need LOS. Yet now suddenly we toss the "permissive ruleset, if it doesn't say you can then you can't!" thing out the window? If he lands on the opposite side of an 8" high wall it still works? Njal's tempest isn't a psychic shooting attack, it's just something that happens during the shooting phase [like something else I know of...]. It just happens to mention that it needs LOS. Which apparently in a permissive ruleset it shouldn't even need.

Why? For this VERY reason. Despite it being a permissive ruleset, everyone jumps on technical wordings and nitty-gritties. It says "every", so THIS time it's GOT to mean "every" and ignore LOS restrictions!

This is why RAI is the way to go. So you can look at his 90 point price tag, realize "that's silly" and move on.

In the meantime, the 200+ point special character that I wouldn't mind affecting units in vehicles due to that price tag and the RANDOM chance you get that ability....can't.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



Look on the left side of page 53 under 'Lord of Tempests'. Line of sight is required.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 07:56:30


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yakface is correct.

And in all seriousness, stop getting to worked up about the DoM. He is crap, plain and simple.

He doesn't have an invulnerable save, he is T4 and his "game breaking" power has a whopping 6" range. Every single game I have played against him, my Long Fangs have killed him before he has had a chance to kill anything. Well, except for one game, where he caused a massive 3 wounds, before my Missile Launchers turned him into gooey soup.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/03 11:46:50


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ph
Frenzied Juggernaut






Oh man, make a wall of text to be answered by a one liner that completely renders your wall of text useless.

qwekel wants to get bigger, please click on him and level him up.
 
   
Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




At the right hand of farsight

Gwar! wrote:Yakface is correct.

And in all seriousness, stop getting to worked up about the DoM. He is crap, plain and simple.

He doesn't have an invulnerable save, he is T4 and his "game breaking" power has a whopping 6" range. Every single game I have played against him, my Long Fangs have killed him before he has had a chance to kill anything. Well, except for one game, where he caused a massive 3 wounds, before my Missile Launchers turned him into gooey soup.


Are you sure he does not have an invun save gwar? i have seen this said in other places yet looking at his entry, under his special rules it says he has a warp field(see page XX) just after shadow in the warp bit.

"I may fight for the empire, but I stand apart from it"-Commander Farsight 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ghost23 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Yakface is correct.

And in all seriousness, stop getting to worked up about the DoM. He is crap, plain and simple.

He doesn't have an invulnerable save, he is T4 and his "game breaking" power has a whopping 6" range. Every single game I have played against him, my Long Fangs have killed him before he has had a chance to kill anything. Well, except for one game, where he caused a massive 3 wounds, before my Missile Launchers turned him into gooey soup.
Are you sure he does not have an invun save gwar? i have seen this said in other places yet looking at his entry, under his special rules it says he has a warp field(see page XX) just after shadow in the warp bit.
Firstly, welcome to Dakka, I am honoured that you stopped lurking to reply to me

Please Re-read the Warp Field rule. It does not grant a 3++ save. It says "A Warp Field grants a Zoanthrope a 3+ invulnerable save."

A Doom of Malan'tai is not a Zoanthrope, so Warp Field does nothing.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/03 14:56:28


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




At the right hand of farsight

H mm i see what you mean, just abit confusing as you even say in the unofficial FAQ that he would indeed get the 3+ invul although you did note the bit about the non zoanthorpe thing, i guess its down to who you play and the general area in which you play how how this gets interpreted.

"I may fight for the empire, but I stand apart from it"-Commander Farsight 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ghost23 wrote:H mm i see what you mean, just abit confusing as you even say in the unofficial FAQ that he would indeed get the 3+ invul although you did note the bit about the non zoanthorpe thing, i guess its down to who you play and the general area in which you play how how this gets interpreted.
I know. I did mark it as a rule change however.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

Gwar! wrote:
ghost23 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Yakface is correct.

And in all seriousness, stop getting to worked up about the DoM. He is crap, plain and simple.

He doesn't have an invulnerable save, he is T4 and his "game breaking" power has a whopping 6" range. Every single game I have played against him, my Long Fangs have killed him before he has had a chance to kill anything. Well, except for one game, where he caused a massive 3 wounds, before my Missile Launchers turned him into gooey soup.
Are you sure he does not have an invun save gwar? i have seen this said in other places yet looking at his entry, under his special rules it says he has a warp field(see page XX) just after shadow in the warp bit.
Firstly, welcome to Dakka, I am honoured that you stopped lurking to reply to me

Please Re-read the Warp Field rule. It does not grant a 3++ save. It says "A Warp Field grants a Zoanthrope a 3+ invulnerable save."

A Doom of Malan'tai is not a Zoanthrope, so Warp Field does nothing.


Really Doom of Malan'tai isn't a Zoanthrope. Why does it state in it's description "The Doom of Malan'tai is a unique adaptation of the Zoanthrope" It is describing what it is. But the Doom of Malan'tai is a unique version of a Zoanthrope that is all.

Just like the SwarmLord is really just a unique Hive Tyrant

And Old one eye is a unique Carnifex.

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







sbeasley wrote:A Doom of Malan'tai is not a Zoanthrope, so Warp Field does nothing.


Really Doom of Malan'tai isn't a Zoanthrope. Why does it state in it's description "The Doom of Malan'tai is a unique adaptation of the Zoanthrope" It is describing what it is. But the Doom of Malan'tai is a unique version of a Zoanthrope that is all.

Just like the SwarmLord is really just a unique Hive Tyrant

And Old one eye is a unique Carnifex.
Fluff is not rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

It's not fluff. It's a description. Fluff would be Eldar are really scared of it, because it rips their souls out. I'm sorry GW doesn't format Titles of units

Doom of Malan'tai - A unique Zoanthrope

Eldrad isn't a Farseer either right, right. Sheesh.

So he really can't use those Psychic powers because those are Farseer Psychic powers. He only counts as a Farseer for the purpose of adding warlocks. I'm sorry Eldar everywhere Eldrad now sucks. Because everywhere it says Eldard Farseer this and farseer that is just fluff according to Gwar. /sarcasm

There is a difference between what fluff is, and describing what the unit is.

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

How about we just leave it at: The Tyranid Codex isn't as clear as it should be on designations for the 'special character' nids, but everyone will play them as the appropriate type of creature anyway, so not a huge issue.

...and move on. This thread was about Njal, not Tyranids. And since the original issue has been resolved, I think we're done here.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: