| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/04 22:22:08
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Columbia, South Carolina
|
I gave a look around and found nothing to answer my question on the forum. My question is, when using the griffon can I measure the scatter of a template before I use the reroll for accurate bombardment?
|
2000 pts
6000 pts
3000 pts
2000 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/04 22:33:50
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Snord
|
I'd say yes
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/04 23:41:12
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I'd say no.
You measure as you move the Blast Marker. If you're re-rolling the scatter, that happens before moving the marker, so no measuring happens yet.
The rules don't specify either way, but that's my take. YMMV.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 00:50:22
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Nope. You cannot, for the simple reason that the rules do not say you can.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 05:29:05
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Auspicious Skink Shaman
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
|
Though I agree with Gwar! on most things, I'm tempted to say that it doesn't specify -when- the reroll takes place.
ie, you roll, scatter, see where it scatters and find it unfavourable, use your reroll.
That's how it's played around here, and I don't see an interpretation for otherwise.
|
DS:80S++G++MB+I+Pwhfb05+D+A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 06:42:51
Subject: Re:Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Revving Ravenwing Biker
|
Its not just the Griffon. It's the Little Griffon that Could, so damn it yes it can
Although from a practical standpoint because the template is placed before you measure or determine to re-roll, its really easy to eyeball it
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/05 08:15:29
-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 15:39:15
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
Yea, I don't think anyone is going to stop you from checking the marker for where it lands. Especially since it would be wicked easy to eyeball it, and that no one ever gets those markers spot on anyway.
If it were me, I would let you check it.
|
Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 17:24:37
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Clinton, TN
|
I must play this differently, and I don't know where I got this from, but it works for all the locals around here.
When rolling for scatter, we always roll the scatter dice by itself first. If it scatters, then we roll 2D6 (or appropriate). We take "re-roll the scatter" to mean specifically the scatter dice, not the 2D6 as well. So our formula is this:
1) Roll Scatter
2) Re-roll scatter if you wish
3) Roll 2D6 if necessary
4) Death ensues
Works for us.
|
Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500
"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 17:30:59
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Omega_Warlord wrote:We take "re-roll the scatter" to mean specifically the scatter dice, not the 2D6 as well.
Well, you take it wrong. Page 30 of the BRB: Blast weapons and re-rolls If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after firing a blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6.
Page 32 of the BRB: All barrage weapons use blast markers and consequently use the rules for blast weapons, with the following exceptions: Thus, you must re-roll both the 2D6 and the Scatter dice. And in any case, "Dice" is the plural form of "Die". While GW may not be consistent in this regard, Dice still means more than one Die, so re-rolling scatter "Dice" indicates you are re-rolling more than 1 Die.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/06 17:32:04
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 18:13:04
Subject: Re:Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Snord
|
BRB pg 32 Blast weapons and re-rolls
...."to re-roll its rolls to hit...."
IG Codex pg 52 Accurate bombardment
...."can re-roll the scatter dice"....´
It's not a "re-roll to hit" but a special rule, and codex thrumps rulebook right?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/06 18:17:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 18:18:01
Subject: Re:Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Bla_Ze wrote:BRB pg 32 Blast weapons and re-rolls ...."to re-roll its rolls to hit...." IG Codex pg 52 Accurate bombardment ...."can re-roll the scatter dice"....´ It's not a "re-roll" but a special rule, and codex thrumps rulebook right?
And as I said, Dice is plural My Example of Re-rolling to hit is (and I use the term while Flogging myself with barbed Wire in Penance), Rapibta (Rules as possibly intended by the author), but the fact that Dice is plural is RaW ;D And no, "Codex Trumps Rulebook" as a blanket statement is not correct and never has been.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/06 18:18:38
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/06 18:24:36
Subject: Griffon Accurate Bombardment Question
|
 |
Snord
|
Yes i do understand, even if dice is plural thats what the game designers choose to call it.
Check BRB pg 2.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|