Switch Theme:

"Multi-charge" question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation







Does a unit have to charge as many units as it can in the assault phase?
Or does it just charge as many units as you would like it to?
i.e. My Khorne zerkers are in assualt range of 3 huge ork mobs. Can I choose how many I assault or do I have to charge all 3 mobs?

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

You have to reach as many models as possible in the unit(s) charged. It's totally up to you if that is one, two or all three of the Ork mobs.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation







So are you saying
1) that I have a choice and its clearly written that I can assault as many units as I want to
or
2)I can position my models so that although i must assault as many units as possible, I can use a loophole in the rules to choose what I assault?

 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

It is clearly written in the assault rules. Regardless of how many units you try to assault, as long as you follow the steps in moving your assaulting unit, it's pretty self explanatory.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

From the way I understand it. You can choose if you want to engage in multiple combats. First you have to first assault the unit that was shot at by the squad if any. If not then just move the model that is closest to the unit that you want to assault to the closest point. Then you can assault the rest however you want as long as the unit remains in coherency. This obviously limits what you can assault. I hope that helps. The page you want to look at is pg 34

1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You choose a single unit to assault. Once you have moved the first model, you can choose to assault other units if you can do so following the rules for moving charging models (which doesn't just mean maintaining coherency).

You are under no obligation to charge multiple units.

 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation







Okay, thanks.
I don't have to charge multiple units.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No loophole at all. Regardless of the positioning of your models, you do not have to assault any units other than the one you declare a charge against.

Your first model must assault the unit you declare a charge against. That (the unit you declared a charge against) is the only unit you MUST try to reach base-to-base with, etc. If you want to, you may (while still following the assault rules for coherency, etc etc) assault additional units. You do not have to assault the 2nd and 3rd units if you do not want to.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

However it should be noted that all models in the assaulting unit must move 6" towards at LEAST one enemy unit, should they be within assault range. No holding back!

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

tetrisphreak wrote:However it should be noted that all models in the assaulting unit must move 6" towards at LEAST one enemy unit, should they be within assault range. No holding back!


Only unit he's required to move towards, assuming no multiple charge, is the unit he declared a charge against. The other units are just 'terrain' if you will, until/unless he decides to charge them as well.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: