Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 08:53:54
Subject: Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
In Apoc it states that SHW such as the Gargant roll their armor pen with 2d6 like a monstorous creature.
However it also says these hits are so massive they count as ordanance.
Ordance says that when penetrating you can roll 2 dice and pick the highest.
But since it has MC rules you are already rolling 2 dice and using both those dice, you dont have to "pick" anything.
Am I missing something or reading it incorrectly?
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 08:58:04
Subject: Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I believe it works out that you roll 2D6, choose the highest, and then add a further D6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 11:38:28
Subject: Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Would it be legitimate to roll the 2d6 for the MC rules and then roll a further two for the ordance rules and pick the highest?
Im not 100% clear where your extra d6 comes from Master, although admittedly my version is a variation.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 12:06:10
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Super-Heavy walkers in cc:
- may assault whoever is in range, not neccessarly whom they shot at
- ignore armorsaves
- roll 2d6 + strentgh for pen
- use the ordnance damage table ( 4th ed ? )
IMO the apoc rules on page 91/92 refer to the old seperate ordnance damage table from 4th ed.
Under 5th, getting 2d6 + S + replacing one d6 with 2 and picking highest.
=> 3d6 ( choose 2 ) + S = pen.
plus it hits the rear AV.
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 16:02:37
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Interesting point about 4th ed although iirc the wording is that they roll damage like ordnance weapons not "use the damage table" (of which there is no such thing anymore).
Can you clarify why they always hit rear armor? I dont recall that but its nice!
Im inclined though to agree with your 3d6 pick 2 highest + str.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 16:39:48
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Ratius wrote:Can you clarify why they always hit rear armor? I dont recall that but its nice!
P63 BRB, CC hits are resolved against rear armor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 16:43:34
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gorkamorka wrote:Ratius wrote:Can you clarify why they always hit rear armor? I dont recall that but its nice!
P63 BRB, CC hits are resolved against rear armor.
I am afraid you are mistaken. A Super-heavy Walker is still a walker. Page 72 states "Models hitting a walker in close combat always roll for penetration against its front armour." Thus, against a Gargant, Titan, Super-Killy-Stompa-Mark-Four you roll against the front armour.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/05 16:44:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 17:10:40
Subject: Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
But the Super-Killy-Stompa-Mark-Four hits opponent's vehicles in their back armor during an assault (unless that opponent's vehicle is also a walker).
Correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 17:31:26
Subject: Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, I think Gwar got who-was-hitting-who the wrong way round there.
Walkers hit opposing non-walker vehicles on their rear armour, other walkers on their front armour
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/05 17:31:49
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Walkers ArP
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Ratius wrote:Interesting point about 4th ed although iirc the wording is that they roll damage like ordnance weapons not "use the damage table" (of which there is no such thing anymore).
Im inclined though to agree with your 3d6 pick 2 highest + str.
May I suggest to quote page 91 pragraph on the right about CC.
The Apoc book of mine mentions damage tables there. Could be different with yours.
Gwar! wrote:Gorkamorka wrote:Ratius wrote:Can you clarify why they always hit rear armor? I dont recall that but its nice!
P63 BRB, CC hits are resolved against rear armor.
I am afraid you are mistaken. A Super-heavy Walker is still a walker. Page 72 states "Models hitting a walker in close combat always roll for penetration against its front armour."
Thus, against a Gargant, Titan, Super-Killy-Stompa-Mark-Four you roll against the front armour.
Mistaken? The OP didnt specifiy a victim unit...
Saldiven and Gorkamorka have it correct for all those non-walker units ( or tyranid bio-monstrosities ).
Shouldn't be a great deal to roll a 4 on 2 dice when max AV is 14 and most super-heavy walkers are S10.
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
|