Switch Theme:

IC, the unit they lead, assault, and striking back  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman




Liverpool

Hi All,

Looking for some help on a question that came up last night which we couldn't figure out after reading the rules a few times. Beer was involved so that may have had an impact on our lack of cohesive thought:

Ghaz has joined 2 meganobs, and charges a space marine dreadnought to "smash it's pasty".

Due to slow & purposeful, only Ghaz makes it into base-to-base contact with the dread. The Meganobs are behind Ghaz, within 2 inches of his base.

Ok, now, due to the IC rule treating Ghaz a separate model during assault etc:

1.Can the dreadnought only swing its attacks against Ghaz?
2. Can the dreadnought in fact choose to bypass Ghaz, and swing its attacks against the meganob unit?
3. Can the meganobs behind Ghaz attack the Dreadnought, or do they suffer because Ghaz is treated as a separate unit and therefore cannot benefit from being within 2 inches of his base when he is in combat?

I tried having another read in the cold light of day but I'll be honest Everton played Liverpool yesterday and I'm still bladded.

Thanks in advance!

"If our society had no social problems at all, the leftists would have to INVENT problems in order to provide themselves with an excuse for making a fuss."
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The answer to all three questions comes straight from the fact that an IC is a separate unit in close combat.


Keyasa wrote:1.Can the dreadnought only swing its attacks against Ghaz?


As none of the Nobs are in base contact, he is not engaged with that unit. Because Ghaz is the only unit in base contact, he must direct his attacks against Ghaz.


2. Can the dreadnought in fact choose to bypass Ghaz, and swing its attacks against the meganob unit?


As above.


3. Can the meganobs behind Ghaz attack the Dreadnought, or do they suffer because Ghaz is treated as a separate unit and therefore cannot benefit from being within 2 inches of his base when he is in combat?


The 2 inch rule applies to models from the same unit in base contact. So no, the Nobs don't get an attack, as no model from their unit (as Ghaz counts as a separate unit in close combat) are in base contact with the Dreadnought.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I'm going to assume that there are no nobs in base contact with the dreadnought.

If so, then the dreadnought can only attack the IC; the dreadnought cannot attack the nobs; and the nobs cannot attack the dreadnought. That's all the result of the nobs being a separate unit for most of the assault.

Edit: Ninja'd by Insaniak.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/07 10:57:14


 
   
Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman




Liverpool

Thanks, we played it the other way around for the purposes of getting on with the game. Cheers for the rapid responses

"If our society had no social problems at all, the leftists would have to INVENT problems in order to provide themselves with an excuse for making a fuss."
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: