Switch Theme:

DoM FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Hey guys. Just a quick thing I noticed. I just looked on the GW FAQ's - Rules update March '09.
Everyone seems to be bickering about the Doom of Malan'tai being able to shoot/psychic attack at units in vehicles.
There is an FAQ on the site saying that psychic attacks can't be used against units in transports unless the model using the power is also in the transport.
I guess the big question now is whether it is a shooting & or psychic attack or not....?
I would guess yes, but what do I know.

As for it being a Zoanthrope or not......
I would assume as the Warp Field rule is in it's profile it does get the 3+ Invulnerable save.
There is some mention of it being a Zoanthrope in the fluff of the codex.
But again. What do I know.

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Problem with this is that the Tyranid codex came out after the FAQ. March '09 would therefore not be valid.

If I am incorrect in this, please let me know.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Klueless, you would be correct apart from the glaring mistake - Doom "spirit leech" is neither a shooting attack OR a psychic power, therefore the FAQ does not apply.
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Warren, OH

To be extra clear it is only Psychic Powers that are prevented from targeting units in a transport if they aren't in the transport with the targeted unit. Shooting attacks normally require that you can draw LOS to that unit. If you can't then you can't shoot it. Can you draw LOS to the unit in a transport. No, so you can't shoot it. Some weapons don't require LOS so by RAW potentially could still target said unit if the wording was similar to what is being used for DoM and Psychic hoods and such. Like the Eldar Vibro Cannon. Doesn't require LOS, you draw a 36" line and any unit that the line passes through is hit. The only differences between this and how DoM works is that DoM is measured by Area and an Ability, and the Vibro Cannon is measured by a line and a weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/08 21:06:52


1850 Mech Eldar 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Resolved, and discussed to death in multiple threads. Moving right along...

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: