| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:11:48
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
I know this has been covered before but my search fu is weak;
5 Combi Melta CSM Terms shoot a transport
Transport is blown up, 5 marines get out
Combi melta CSM Terms can assault marines
That much I have covered, however answer the following scenarios;
5 Combi Melta CSM Terms shoot a transport, all miss
Transport is blown up by another unit, 5 marines get out
Combi melta CSM Terms can assault marines (They shot but did not blow up the rhino)
5 Combi Melta CSM Terms shoot a transport
Transport is blown up, 5 marines get out
Combi melta CSM Terms failed their terrain roll, cannot assault marines
However, a Daemon Prince is near the rhino and makes his roll, therefore assaulting the marines
I'm mostly interested in how this will be played at Adepticon, as I failed to find it in the FAQ....although I'll listen to non-Adepticon thoughts as well (obviously).
My thoughts;
Anyone near the rhino can assault whomever gets out.
My reasoning;
On page 67 when they detail the 'unit that shot it may assault...' they are not being specific on the only unit that may assault, they are simply pointing out the normal rule of only assault what you shot....can be broken by this unit. This does not exclude normal assaults, simply allows an abnormal assault as well.
(Reasonable) thoughts?
|
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:32:56
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
This has been hashed to death on previous occasions.
Some believe that the reference to 'the unit that shot it' should apply to any unit that shot at the transport.
Some (including myself) feel that within the context of the whole statement 'the unit that shot it' is referencing the unit that actually destroyed the transport.
If it's not in the tournament FAQ, I would recommend checking with the TO before the event.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:45:43
Subject: Re:Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
Hey Insaniak,
What do you think of the third option? The entire reasoning behind them adding that statement is not to exclude others from assaulting (As they satisfy the normal assault rules) but instead to include a unit that would normally not be allowed to assault (a different unit).
|
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:52:51
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You mean the Daemon Prince? If he didn't shoot at the rhino, there is nothing stopping him from assaulting the disembarked unit.
The only reason that rule exists is to grant units that destroy a transport the ability to assault the disembarked unit, as ordinarily they would be bound by the rule requiring them to only assault the unit at which they shot... which was the transport.
It has no effect on units that didn't shoot at the transport.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:53:08
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If the Daemon Prince shot a different unit that turn... he may not assault any unit in range that he did not shoot at.
If he sat there twiddling his thumbs anticipating the transport's demise then he can assault whomever he wishes that is physically in range at the beginning of the assault phase.
Sometimes there are some critical decisions in 'who shoots first' and 'who doesn't shoot at all'.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:01:13
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
insaniak wrote:You mean the Daemon Prince? If he didn't shoot at the rhino, there is nothing stopping him from assaulting the disembarked unit.
The only reason that rule exists is to grant units that destroy a transport the ability to assault the disembarked unit, as ordinarily they would be bound by the rule requiring them to only assault the unit at which they shot... which was the transport.
It has no effect on units that didn't shoot at the transport.
Ahh ok, the only real dispute then is if the unit is required to blow it up to assault. Ok, I'll just have to pm Yak on how Adepticon plays that.
I've seen (perhaps not on this forum) argument that the rule is exclusionary, as in it disallows any other unit from assaulting besides the unit that shot.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/10 02:26:01
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:18:41
Subject: Transports blown up----who can assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I've seen that argument, but it doesn't really hold up to the rule as written. It grants a specific unit the ability to do something it couldn't normally do. It doesn't exclude anyone else from doing anything.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|