| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:56:28
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
so basically the LOS can move enemy units upon the passing of a psy test
It says "the target is moved 2D6 by the chaos player"
Does that mean I (the chaos player) gets to move the target 2D6 inches or up to 2D6 inches?
I.E. I rolled a 4 and a 6 on the 2D6. Do I have to move the target unit 10 inches or can I move it 8 inches if I want?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 01:59:43
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
I just read the entry in the Codex, and I guess RAW would say that you move them 2d6.
Good question though.
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:03:27
Subject: Re:Lash of submission question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
Okay. It makes sense. That's how I interpreted it any way.
Some guy at a tourny used the LOS on me and didn't move my guys the full distance.
Also, if you want to move an enemy using the lash, but by doing so it would put the model closer than 1" of your friendly models could you do that?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:10:52
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
We've always played it as allowing the LOS player to make the unit move, following all the normal movement rules (coherency, etc). Included in that would be no limitation on going less than the full distance moved.
Additionally, it specifies that you can't move them within 1" of enemy models... I think this lends further credence to the idea that the move is a standard move, but made by the Chaos player.
If it doesn't follow the standard movement rules, then you could move two models within the unit x" in opposite directions, such that they'd be out of coherency for at least a turn or two. I don't think the power is meant to allow that.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:11:11
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
I think you'd have to move them the full 2d6 but still have to follow the normal rules for movement such as distance from enemy units and avoiding impassable terrain and whatnot.
The unit you're moving would just have to make a bit of a turn at the end of the move, basically. If they can't do that I just don't know what would happen. Maybe you just would have to move them in a totally different direction?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/10 02:12:50
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:12:06
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
The rule specifies you can't move them off the table or into impassable terrain.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:24:04
Subject: Re:Lash of submission question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Please see http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1610178_Chaos_Space_Marines_FAQ_2008-05_Edition.pdf.
According to the FAQ, the move cause by Lash of Submission is a normal move and the 2D6" rolled is the maximum distance which can be moved. If someone rolls a 12 and only wants to move a model in the unit half an inch, that's perfectly okay.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:24:19
Subject: Re:Lash of submission question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
Okay. Duly noted, I can't move the enemy within 1" of my models .
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:25:12
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
You know I was just coming back to this page to link to that very FAQ?
It would appear that I've been talking directly out of my arse, and I apologize for it.
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 02:26:55
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
Though that FAQ does seem to directly contradict the whole "moved 2d6 by the Chaos player" thing that's in the Codex...
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 10:52:59
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It does not, as a "move" is defined in the Movement rules as being always "up to" the maximum distance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 11:33:59
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
Fair enough. The "moving up to" bit comes from the movement rules, not the Chaos Codex. Gotcha.
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 12:28:26
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Even without the FAQ, nothing says the 2D6 has to be in a straight line. If you roll 11 but only want to move them 7, you can move them 9" forward then 2" backwards.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 12:49:04
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:Even without the FAQ, nothing says the 2D6 has to be in a straight line. If you roll 11 but only want to move them 7, you can move them 9" forward then 2" backwards.
But that is still a straight line Gwar.
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/10 13:22:53
Subject: Lash of submission question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Davor wrote:Gwar! wrote:Even without the FAQ, nothing says the 2D6 has to be in a straight line. If you roll 11 but only want to move them 7, you can move them 9" forward then 2" backwards. But that is still a straight line Gwar. 
No, it's actually a line with a single corner of 180 degrees. Looks straight, but it actually isn't. Of course, if you want to claim its a straight line, I'll instead move the unit 7", rotate 179.9999999999999999999999999999... ad infinitum degrees and move 2" in that direction.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/10 13:23:43
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|