Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 13:41:46
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
The gets hot rule "you must roll to hit, even if the target is found to be out of range." Effectively, that means I can shoot even though my plasma rifle is out of range. Because, where does it say that you don't get to shoot, it just says you must roll to shoot even if the target is found to be out of range. I'm sure this is me being a TFG RAW. I'll leave it up to you guys.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/11 13:42:12
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 13:47:07
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Shooting is comprised of hitting,wounding, saving etc.
In other words you must roll to hit, even if the target is found to be out of range."
is not the same as it just says you must roll to shoot even if
So you get to roll the to hit dice and nothing more?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/11 13:49:16
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 13:47:15
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Yup, you can shoot, but since the target is out of range, you automatically miss.
You still have to roll to see if the weapon Gets Hot, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 14:06:09
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Saldiven wrote:Yup, you can shoot, but since the target is out of range, you automatically miss.
You still have to roll to see if the weapon Gets Hot, though.
This.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 14:22:18
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You still roll to hit, the "hit" will automatically miss regardless of what you roll as you are out of range, but you can still "get hot!" on a roll to hit of a 1.
No ambiguity, just saying trying to fire should incur the same downside for a Gets Hot! weapon even if you arent in range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:27:04
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You still roll to hit, the "hit" will automatically miss regardless of what you roll as you are out of range, but you can still "get hot!" on a roll to hit of a 1.
No ambiguity, just saying trying to fire should incur the same downside for a Gets Hot! weapon even if you arent in range.
100% correct
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/11 20:33:41
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Isn't this really to cover the use of a plasma weapon with a blast marker? Not that it is exclusively the case but...
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/12 08:06:54
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is to cover the fact that Plasma weapons, when fired by a nonvehicle, have a chance of killing their bearer. Whether you are in range or not you have still fired and STILL have a chance of blowing your face off.
Cf to WHFB where if your cannon is out of range (unlikely, but still...) you must still roll to see if you have blown yourself up. You have still fired the shot, it just cannot hit anything, but that doesnt alter the chance of blowing yourself up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/12 11:23:22
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You can, of course, choose not to fire if you're obviously out of range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/12 12:53:25
Subject: Gets hot! special rule -- ambiguity
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you can choose not to fire - but you have to declare you are not firing with X and then cannot change your mind. If you dont declare you are assumed to be firing with everything.
|
|
 |
 |
|