Switch Theme:

Some Tau Questions (New Player)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Hello, I am a new player(played 3 games so far, none calculating war gear or other armory items into points...)
So I have just a couple of questions.

1st. Battlesuit Armory, the codex says "No model can pick the same item twice..." so this means that my Crisis suit with two Plasma Rifles is not allowed correct?

2nd. XV8 Shas'vre, codex says "One Shas'ui may be upgraded to team leader @ 5pts....and then to Shas'vre @ another 5pts" it also says "A team consists of 1-3 Shas'ui" so that means a team of 1 shas'ui cannot upgrade to Shas'vre because there would be no more Shas'ui to form the team correct?

3rd. Under Battlesuit Armory says, Burst Cannon.....8pts/12pts and similar for a lot of items, what does the second number mean? And which one do I use when calculating points.

4th. I just got a Hammerhead and can't seem to find a visual representation of the Tau Vehicle Armory, how am I supposed to know what item does what?

Thanks!

New Questions, I'll add any new question(s) here: (I don't actually think I'll be asking many more but I figured I should keep thing as clean and in one topic as possible.

Okay, one final question with this thread, then I'll let it die, you said I have to roll to hit .w markerlight, I assume then my opponent gets any cover saves allowed, but do we still roll to wound or no?(I'm guessing no, but it's always good to have a knowledgeable answer."

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/14 14:12:44


 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Hi xGhost4000x

Welcome to the boards.

1. Fraid so. Unless: (3) You can pick two of the same weapons, counting as twin linked, using two weapon systems. This is where you use the second points entry.

This means you can use your suit, but he would have a twin linked plasma rifle (which means you get to reroll to hit) rather than two rifles.

Finally 2: There is no reason you can't have a single Shas'vre by himself. He is just a loner with access to some cool guns.

Edit: 4: Does page 57 help?

Hope that helps. Have fun!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/12 01:46:54


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Soup and a roll is spot on.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Thank you, that answers all of my questions except for the Vehicle Armory question. While pg. 57 does have some of them I was mostly wondering if there was any visual representation of the stuff from pg. 30, decoy launchers, seeker missiles, flechette discharger, etc.

Thanks for the answers though they were extremely helpful!

 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Ballarat, Victoria, Australia

Just in answer to question 3. The seccond number is used when you take 2 of the same weapon to make a twin linked weapon system.

So a single burst cannon is worth 8 points But a twin linked burst cannon is worth 12.

If you read the little caption below the armory section it should explain that to you.

Ah yes. Gotta love it! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Oh sorry I missed that, I see it now.

If you wouldn't mind answering a quick question about vehicles. Can vehicles fire all of there weapon systems? I only ask because battlesuits have the multi tracker armory item which helps alot but vehicles have no such thing.

 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Mt. Gretna, PA

Hmm???

The vehicles to have access to a multi-tracker, it just reacts differently.

The multi-tracker on a vehicle enables you to fire as though you were a fast vehicle.

 Goliath wrote:
 Gentleman_Jellyfish wrote:
What kind of drugs do you have to be on to see Hitler in your teapot?
Whichever they are, I'm not on the Reich ones, clearly.
 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






So... someone correct me if im wrong...

Your hammerhead/devilfish/skyray may...
Remain stationary = Fire all weapons
Move upto 6" = One Strength 5+ weapon and all defensive (S4 or less) weaponry (markerlights on the skyray are defensive)
Move over 6" and upto 12" = May not fire

However if you take a multi-tracker you may...
Remain stationary = Fire all weapons
Move upto 6" = Fire all weapons
Move over 6" and upto 12" = One Strength 5+ weapon and all defensive (S4 or less) weaponry (markerlights on the skyray are defensive)

(Note pirahnas are already "fast" skimmers)

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'll continue asking my Tau related questions here if no one minds. I think it's better then creating new topics. I'll try to keep the first post up to date with my most recent question...

Markerlights: First do I have to role to hit with them much like if I were shooting a different weapon? Second if I have a pathfinder team and they all have markerlights can they markerlight multiple things or only one thing, and can they all stack there markerlight on the same thing(so in theory I have four pathfinder all with pulse carbines/markerlights and they markerlight a dreadnought does it have 4 markers on it now?)

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







xGhost4000x wrote:I'll continue asking my Tau related questions here if no one minds. I think it's better then creating new topics. I'll try to keep the first post up to date with my most recent question...
It's better if you just start new threads mate
Markerlights: First do I have to role to hit with them much like if I were shooting a different weapon?
Yes.
Second if I have a pathfinder team and they all have markerlights can they markerlight multiple things or only one thing,
Unless one has a Target Lock, the whole unit must fire at the same target.
and can they all stack there markerlight on the same thing
Yes. For every Markerlight hit, the target unit has 1 Markerlight Counter that can be used by another unit.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Okay, one final question with this thread, then I'll let it die, you said I have to roll to hit .w markerlight, I assume then my opponent gets any cover saves allowed, but do we still roll to wound or no?(I'm guessing no, but it's always good to have a knowledgeable answer."

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Cover saves are taken after a wounding hit is produced, not before - and markerlights dont ever wound, therefore cover saves cannot be taken.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Cover saves are taken after a wounding hit is produced, not before - and markerlights dont ever wound, therefore cover saves cannot be taken.
110% correct

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Oh wow we were doing it wrong then, we did cover saves before wounds. Thanks for all the help guys. And thanks for putting up with my Noob questions. I'll let this thread die now, and if I need anything else in the future I'll make a new thread.

Once again, THANKS!

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: