| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 00:28:19
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
If didn't use a psy power during a game turn that my opponent charged me, could I still use the instant death power?
Example:
Its the assault phase of Turn 4. Vulcan and a tac squad charges my plague marines with chaos sorcerer attached.
My sorc is in base to base contact. He has the mark of slanesh, so my sorc goes first. He claims two wounds on vulcan, would my sorc be allowed to use his force weapon's special ability?
My sorc did not use a psy power during the game turn.
In RAW it states that you can only use 1 power per player turn, but there is a chaos power (warptime) that can be used during any player's turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 00:35:20
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Force Weapon's rules apply any time it is used. It's a close combat weapon, that does extra things when it wounds. That will apply in either player's turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/15 00:35:39
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 00:38:52
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
insaniak wrote:The Force Weapon's rules apply any time it is used. It's a close combat weapon, that does extra things when it wounds. That will apply in either player's turn.
Not true. Pg. 50, BRB, the box at the bottom; a Force Weapon is a power weapon, which allows the psyker to use an additional psychic power, which allows him to inflict Instant Death against any one opponent regardless of Toughness. All the normal rules for psychic powers apply.
So the question is, are you normally allowed to use psychic powers on your opponent's turn?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/15 00:39:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 00:48:04
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
BeRzErKeR wrote: Pg. 50, BRB, the box at the bottom; a Force Weapon is a power weapon, which allows the psyker to use an additional psychic power, which allows him to inflict Instant Death against any one opponent regardless of Toughness. All the normal rules for psychic powers apply.
That was exactly my point.
The Psychic power is used when the weapon is used. The weapon, as a close combat weapon, is used in close combat. Nothing in the Force Weapon rules suggests that it can only be used in the owning player's turn.
So the question is, are you normally allowed to use psychic powers on your opponent's turn?
There is no default timing for the use of Psychic powers. The Psychic power rules simply say that you can use one per player turn. Any further restrictions come from the rules of the power in question.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 00:55:31
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
|
lordrevege wrote:If didn't use a psy power during a game turn that my opponent charged me, could I still use the instant death power?
Example:
Its the assault phase of Turn 4. Vulcan and a tac squad charges my plague marines with chaos sorcerer attached.
My sorc is in base to base contact. He has the mark of slanesh, so my sorc goes first. He claims two wounds on vulcan, would my sorc be allowed to use his force weapon's special ability?
My sorc did not use a psy power during the game turn.
In RAW it states that you can only use 1 power per player turn, but there is a chaos power (warptime) that can be used during any player's turn.
Yes.
|
DQ:80+S+++G+MB++I+Pw40k96#++D++A++/sWD-R++++T(T)DM+
Note: D+ can take over 12 hours of driving in Canada. It's no small task here.
GENERATION 5: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 12:59:20
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
I woudl say yes. I didn't realise that the force weapon let youuse that power in additoon to others. I have always counted it as a standard psy power for the turn.
If it states that the Fweapon can be used in any PLAYER turn the you coudl use it durign both your and their assault phase...i think.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 14:26:43
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Praxiss wrote:I woudl say yes. I didn't realise that the force weapon let youuse that power in additoon to others. I have always counted it as a standard psy power for the turn.
If it states that the Fweapon can be used in any PLAYER turn the you coudl use it durign both your and their assault phase...i think.
Only if you're using a psyker that can use two psychic powers a turn (a turn contains both you and you're opponents turns)
So if you're using Ezekiel (or other such awesome psyker) then you could use a psychic power and your force weapon in a turn . . . or use the force weapon twice =]
Oshova
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 15:29:38
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:BeRzErKeR wrote: Pg. 50, BRB, the box at the bottom; a Force Weapon is a power weapon, which allows the psyker to use an additional psychic power, which allows him to inflict Instant Death against any one opponent regardless of Toughness. All the normal rules for psychic powers apply.
it does not allow them to "use" an additional power.
"Force weapons are potent psychic weapons used
exclusively by trained psykers. They have the same
effects as power weapons, but also confer to the
wielder one additional psychic power, used in
close combat, that can instantly extinguish the life
force of any opponent."
it gives them an additional power to choose from.
and yes you can use it in your opponents turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/15 15:30:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 17:01:28
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Oshova wrote:Praxiss wrote:I woudl say yes. I didn't realise that the force weapon let youuse that power in additoon to others. I have always counted it as a standard psy power for the turn.
If it states that the Fweapon can be used in any PLAYER turn the you coudl use it durign both your and their assault phase...i think.
Only if you're using a psyker that can use two psychic powers a turn (a turn contains both you and you're opponents turns)
So if you're using Ezekiel (or other such awesome psyker) then you could use a psychic power and your force weapon in a turn . . . or use the force weapon twice =]
Oshova
actually the rules for psykers say "one power per player turn". That implies you can use one in your own turn and one in the other player's turn (if possible).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 17:03:45
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Yeah so if you don't get to use the Force Weapon twice in the first turn of combat, you can use it again in the second turn of combat =D
That's just awesomeness . . . Now where did I put that Ezekiel model? lol
Oshova
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 20:07:52
Subject: Re:Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
Thank the gods, that I can use the force weapon.
Vulcan's soul shall burn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/15 20:18:41
Subject: Can force weapons be used during an opponent's assault phase?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Speaking of Ezekiel, has anyone else noticed that his profile is that of a Chaos Sorcerer? Minus the Iv5+, of course...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|