Switch Theme:

Dawn of War HQ deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






Melbourne

I had a situation come up in a game tonight that I was hoping to get some clarification on. Search revealed no results, so I pose this to those who know better.

It was deployment phase in a Dawn of War match, I deployed my two tactical squads and my HQ unit on the board. My HQ unit consisted of Vulkan and 5 TH/SS Terminators inside a Land Raider. A friend of mine indicated to me that this was illegal, as technically the Terminators are a unit in-and-of-their own, so in a DoW game cannot be deployed. I insisted that the Terminators and Vulkan were joined and thus a single unit, and so not restricted in this way, however in the interest of saving face I relented and kept the unit off the board.

So my question is, who was right? In a Dawn of War match can I deploy my Vulkan unit on the board?

You brighten my life like a polystyrene hat, but it melts in the sun like a life without love, and I've waited for you so I'll keep holding on without you.

"There's nothing cooler than being proud of the things that you love" - Sean Plott

Gold League - Terran 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







unbeliever87 wrote:I had a situation come up in a game tonight that I was hoping to get some clarification on. Search revealed no results, so I pose this to those who know better.

It was deployment phase in a Dawn of War match, I deployed my two tactical squads and my HQ unit on the board. My HQ unit consisted of Vulkan and 5 TH/SS Terminators inside a Land Raider. A friend of mine indicated to me that this was illegal, as technically the Terminators are a unit in-and-of-their own, so in a DoW game cannot be deployed. I insisted that the Terminators and Vulkan were joined and thus a single unit, and so not restricted in this way, however in the interest of saving face I relented and kept the unit off the board.

So my question is, who was right? In a Dawn of War match can I deploy my Vulkan unit on the board?
You were wrong. Dead Wrong. Not to mention there is no way for the Land Raider itself to be deployed either, as it would be either an Elites (being a Dedicated Transport) or a Heavy Support, neither of which can be deployed.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

What if he had deployed the HQ in the LR on his own? Woudl this then not count as his HQ unit?

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in au
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






Melbourne

Interesting! Definitely not what I was expecting, but thanks for clarifying that.

Edit: So let me see if I'm getting this right. An IC can be joined to a unit during deployment, however as the unit cannot be deployed on the field (as per DoW rules) the HQ unit cannot be on the field either. Am I joining all the dots correctly here?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/15 13:52:10


You brighten my life like a polystyrene hat, but it melts in the sun like a life without love, and I've waited for you so I'll keep holding on without you.

"There's nothing cooler than being proud of the things that you love" - Sean Plott

Gold League - Terran 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Praxiss wrote:What if he had deployed the HQ in the LR on his own? Woudl this then not count as his HQ unit?


He still could never deploy the land raider as it is either an elite dedicated transport or a Heavy support and you are only allowed 1 HQ unit and 2 troops units

Units do not equal Choices from the Force Organization Chart either; they are individual Vehicles, or squads, or ICs, or MCs.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






unbeliever87 wrote:Interesting! Definitely not what I was expecting, but thanks for clarifying that.

Edit: So let me see if I'm getting this right. An IC can be joined to a unit during deployment, however as the unit cannot be deployed on the field (as per DoW rules) the HQ unit cannot be on the field either. Am I joining all the dots correctly here?


The trick here is, you can't "declare" a unit to be attached during deployment, only when putting a unit into reserves, the way you deploy an IC attached to a unit is to deploy the unit and then deploy the IC within 2" of the unit. So in the case of Dawn of War, there's no way to get another unit on the board for the IC to deploy inside (other than troops).


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in au
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






Melbourne

That makes sense. Thanks for that guys!

You brighten my life like a polystyrene hat, but it melts in the sun like a life without love, and I've waited for you so I'll keep holding on without you.

"There's nothing cooler than being proud of the things that you love" - Sean Plott

Gold League - Terran 
   
Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper





I have a question in relation to this deployment setup. Do you /have/ to deploy the HQ/Troops at all, and if you do not would it be in regular reserves or would it be in Dawn of War reserves

My Armies
4400 9/7/0
2800 1/3/0
2500 0/0/1
DR:80SG+M-B--I+Pw40k+D++A++WD-DM+


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MAY deploy. Not "have to" deploy

You can then place them in regular or DoW reserves, same as any other unit that is not deployed.
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

you can deploy UP TO 2 troops and 1 hq units in dawn of war. what's a unit? the easiest way i've found to explain it is to simply say something that CAN (not must or should or if you want them too) move and fire on its own is a unit and is considered separate for a dawn of war deployment and is worth one KP. so, that marine HQ that can buy a command squad with a ride all for one HQ slot? three separate units each worth 1 kill point and each counting as your HQ choice (so you'd have to pick 1 of the 3).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: