Switch Theme:

Warcasters and Buff Spells...?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Rules query here. Can Warcasters use buff spells such as snipe and blur on themselves and non-warjack units/solos? My understanding is that they can cast friendly spells on all friendly units except for themselves but I am not 100% sure. I would appreciate anyone's insights with this.

Also, for area of effect spells like earthquake and other "bad things are now happening in this area due to a nasty spell" effects do they affect friendly as well as non-friendly units?


Visit my Iron Kingdoms at War blog...
 
   
Made in nl
Bane Knight





Netherlands

Well, it depends if you are your own friend

Most of the time if a spell affects a model/unit then the caster will also be able to use it on himself. Except if it says for instance target warjack.

As for the second Q it depends on what spell or feat is used. for instance Striker has Earthquake and that knocks down all models in the area. but some casters have spells that will effect any enemy in the area.

It is spell related. Read the card and it should be clear. if not post it in her and we will try and help...

 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Card text usually tells what it can and cannot affect.

Stryker's Earthquake says all models, for instance, so that includes friendlies.

The Harbinger's Cataclym says all enemy models, so friendlies are safe.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






So for example Sorscha can cast Tempest which has area of effect=4. Models hit suffer a POW 12 damage roll. Otherwise the spell is non-specific(except Range 8). Does that mean a friendly in the target area would also suffer the dmg?
(though obviously you would want to avoid this).

Also, must an area of effect spell always target a model or may it target an empty spot on the map?
(let's say a point in the middle of four opposing models)

Visit my Iron Kingdoms at War blog...
 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide







Yes, the attack damages all in the template.

No, you may not target empty space.

DR:70+S+G-MB-I+Pwmhd05#+D++A+++/aWD100R++T(S)DM+++
Get your own Dakka Code!

"...he could never understand the sense of a contest in which the two adversaries agreed upon the rules." Gabriel Garcia Marquez, One Hundred Years of Solitude 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






malfred wrote:Yes, the attack damages all in the template.

No, you may not target empty space.

Thanks for clearing that up- great to have a place to come to for expertise!

Visit my Iron Kingdoms at War blog...
 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: