Switch Theme:

Spore Mine: 5th Edition  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





they also realized that my spore mines can move their normal 6" after they scatter each turn, then they can assault you, and when they get into B2B contact they explode (and likely die) then explode again, because exploding doesnt say anything about removing the model as a casualty, and if it doesnt say you can, then you can't.

good thing we have this all cleared up, now to finish painting my spore mines of super-doom.


So this came up in another thread and rather then debate it there, I figure it could use it's own thread. My response was below:

Do you include the Spore Mine in resolving hits at Str4 and AP4? It does say to place the large blast marker over the Spore Mine indicating that it does get hit as well in the resultant blast. So that would take care of you thinking that your SMoD (Spore Mine of Doom) stays on the board after exploding since it would get wounded on 2+, get no save against it's own attack, and per the rules, "....for each unsaved wound one model is immediately removed from the table as a casualty."
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This has been discussed to death. The rules for spore mines are a little vague, but it should be pretty clear to any reasonable person that the spore mine is removed when it explodes, and only moves D6".

RAW, though, can indeed be taken to mean that the mine would not be removed, and would take damage from its own explosion. The movement mentioned in the original post is wrong, since Infantry are limited to a maximum of 6" in a turn. So it would be D6" random movement and then normal movement for whatever makes it up to a total of 6" for the turn. If you don't think that the D6" replaces the normal movement... Which it should.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/16 23:12:00


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: