Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 02:06:15
Subject: Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
So, the Third Eye allows you to use any enemy spellcaster's spells provided that they do not summon new models or regain lost wounds, but my question is how this works in conjunction with Incantations.
As they do not have casting values, would I roll the 2D6 as the Liche Priests do, or due to RAW can I not cast the spell at all?
Thanks in advance.
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 02:59:12
Subject: Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
As they are not SPELLS, I would say no you can't use them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/18 02:59:43
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 03:06:06
Subject: Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
I see, thanks for the input!
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 03:06:18
Subject: Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
The Tomb Kings book does NOT say that incantations are not spells. They are cast as bound spells with variable power.
In the last paragraph it even specifically calls them spells.
I'd have to read up on the TK faq, but RAW I would say yes you cast them with either the 2d6 or 3d6 that the enemy you stole it from would use.
EDIT: the 2008 FAQ says nothing about this topic, and thus it would be subject to RAW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/18 03:09:57
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 03:50:10
Subject: Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Dangerous Skeleton Champion
Canada
|
I think it should be possible, but depending on who is considered to be the one "casting" the stolen spell (the liche priest or the chaos thing. don't know enough about it to say which), it could change the situation dramatically. 3 of the 4 say "own undead unit" and some even within 12", so if its not the liche priest considered casting you probably can't cast it. That doesn't stop you from casting the magic missle one, though.
Also, remember tomb kings and tomb princes aren't considered spell casters at all. They don't use magic, but their "sheer will" or something like that. You might have known that already but I'm throwing that in there for good measure.
On a side note, I'm not sure GW even knows their own rules. While looking for your answer I found something wrong. In the book it specifically says that drain magic and stuff like that can't lower casting level, but in the FAQ it says:
Q.. Incantations vs Drain Magic. Can an incantation be
cast at a power level of 0 or lower? If so, is it
automatically dispelled by the opponent if he wishes to,
or is a D6 roll still necessary?
A. An incantation is always cast, regardless of its power
level. The opponent must still spend one of his dispel
dice to dispel the incantation. However, the result will
automatically be higher than 0 and the incantation will
be dispelled.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m470835_Tomb_Kings_FAQ_2008-02_Edition.pdf
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/18 03:52:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/18 04:50:06
Subject: Re:Third Eye of Tzeentch and Tomb Kings Magic
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Hmm, looking at the wording, I think I can
Warhammer Armies: Tomb Kings wrote: An Incantation is automatically cast like a bound spell...
So, meaning that in essence, by choosing to cast the spell you treat it as casting with a bound item.
And yes, also due to wording it seems like most of the incantations would have no effect on my Chaos Warriors, sadly.
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
|