Switch Theme:

Land raider question!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So my browser is screwing up, so i'll just post this noob question on here instead of googling it. Is there any way to position a land raider to where i can fire both the twin linked lascannons at one target, or am I doomed to only be able to angle it for one shot from a lascannon, seems like a weapon wasted.

Death comes for you.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

If it's far enough in front or behind (or just big enough) that you can physically point both sponsons at it, then they can both shoot at it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/18 10:00:27


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







There is a "Dead" Zone to be sure, but if it's far enough away, you can get both Lascannons on a single target Easily, especially if said target is a vehicle.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Nervous Accuser






um... my computer?

Just use a "model eye view". Look down the barrel of the lascannon. If you can not see with both, then thats about it. You will of course have to have a talk with your oponent while doing so. Just remember to keep it fair.

Sons of the Phoenix HUGE Project Coming Soon!

"In a period of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In a time of insanity look to the mad man to lead the way." 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Seattle WA

insaniak wrote:If it's far enough in front or behind (or just big enough) that you can physically point both sponsons at it, then they can both shoot at it.


Actually, can't the Land Raider sponsons only fire in a frontward arc, like a LRBT?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







andruin wrote:
insaniak wrote:If it's far enough in front or behind (or just big enough) that you can physically point both sponsons at it, then they can both shoot at it.


Actually, can't the Land Raider sponsons only fire in a frontward arc, like a LRBT?
No. They have a 180+ Degree line of fire.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Gwar! wrote:
andruin wrote:
insaniak wrote:If it's far enough in front or behind (or just big enough) that you can physically point both sponsons at it, then they can both shoot at it.


Actually, can't the Land Raider sponsons only fire in a frontward arc, like a LRBT?
No. They have a 180+ Degree line of fire.
Depending on the Variant... "vanilla" LR's Have Approx. 180 degrees, Crusaders have Approx. 90, and I'm not sure about the Redeemer, as I've never used one.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Fleshound of Khorne




Here is 2 more land raider questions

1 if you receive the Weapon destroy from a vehicle damage chart do you take both the Sponsors because they are a pair?

And if you go a Combat speed can you not fire the Pair of Lascannon (granted you can see and hit with both of them?)



2500 23-6-11 (W L T)
200 0-0-0 (W L T)
LiZ 1800 2-35-15 (W L T) :(
Dk Elfs 2000 1-1-1 (W L T)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

cablecing wrote:1 if you receive the Weapon destroy from a vehicle damage chart do you take both the Sponsors because they are a pair?


They're listed together in the weapon list because they are the same thing. They're two separate weapons, though.


And if you go a Combat speed can you not fire the Pair of Lascannon (granted you can see and hit with both of them?)


No, for the same reason. Being the same doesn't make them one weapon, any more than firing two lascannons from a Devastator squad would count as firing one weapon.

 
   
Made in us
Torture Victim in the Bowels of the Rock



Springfield, Illinois

cablecing wrote:Here is 2 more land raider questions

1 if you receive the Weapon destroy from a vehicle damage chart do you take both the Sponsors because they are a pair?

And if you go a Combat speed can you not fire the Pair of Lascannon (granted you can see and hit with both of them?)


A 'Weapon Destroyed' result can only remove one Lascannon. While they are listed as a "pair" of Lascannon sponsons in the unit entry, they are completely separate weapon systems.

If a Land Raider is moving at Combat Speed you can fire a single weapon that has a strength of 5 or higher and any/all defensive weapons (strength 4 or lower). That is the core ruleset for Tanks firing weapons when moving. Now, depending on which Codex you are using, you may be able to fire an additional weapon at either a BS2 or BS4. This 'additional weapon' may be of any strength.

For instance:
A Codex Space Marines Land Raider may move 6" and fire a Twin Lascannon at target "A" while firing the other Twin Lascannon at target "B" (using the Machine Spirit rules).

A Codex: Space Marines Land Raider Crusader may move 6" and fire every stock weapon on the tank. Additionally, the Assault Cannon or the Multi-Melta may choose to fire at a separate target from the rest of the tank - again, due to a combination of the Vehicles Firing rules (pg. 58, 40K Rulebook) and the C:SM Machine Spirit rules.

Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Black Templars, and Grey Knights all have different Machine Spirit rules than what's stated above, so it's important that you realize that they will work differently. A Codex: Chaos Space Marines Land Raider does not have a Machine Spirit, so it doesn't have the capability of firing any additional weapons at all.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

crashwell wrote:A 'Weapon Destroyed' result can only remove one Lascannon. While they are listed as a "pair" of Lascannon sponsons in the unit entry, they are completely separate weapon systems.


Actually, none of the current crop of codexes list them as a pair.

 
   
Made in us
Torture Victim in the Bowels of the Rock



Springfield, Illinois

insaniak wrote:
crashwell wrote:A 'Weapon Destroyed' result can only remove one Lascannon. While they are listed as a "pair" of Lascannon sponsons in the unit entry, they are completely separate weapon systems.


Actually, none of the current crop of codexes list them as a pair.

My sincerest apologies, when two weapons are listed under the same bullet point in a unit entry, I figured calling them a "pair" would be acceptable ...
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Seattle WA

Also my apologies, I only have the crusader model, which has the limited arc. My bad for inferring otherwise.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: