Switch Theme:

Monstrous Creatures, Elevations, and Template Weapons (oh my)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mindless Spore Mine




St. Louis, MO

Hello Dakka – long time listener, first time caller. I’m semi-new to the game, and had a few questions that bubbled up in a recent match which I would appreciate some feedback on. While I think I know the right interpretations, I didn’t feel confident contradicting a veteran at the time, and I didn’t want to slow down an already moderate/slow paced game. Again, your help would be greatly appreciated. The match in question was Nids (me) vs Orks.

Scenario 1: A mawloc happens to enter under some of his models. Six models are under the large blast template: half are on a 1” tall plateau terrain piece, the other half are on the game board. The question is how many hits are scored? The rules for Ruins state that you may only affect one level with a template. Does this terrain (non-difficult/non-hazardous grassy plateau) mean that I only score 3 hits because I must choose a level? Or do I score 6 hits as this terrain is not a piece of “Ruins.” If I score 6 hits, could someone help with the explanation of rules governing non-ruin elevations?

Scenario 2: A Monstrous Creature goes to assault the models on a 1” tall piece of plateau terrain. The terrain is small enough where he has constructed a ring of gretches roughly 0.5” away from the edges. Is it possible for me to assault these models as I cannot move my large base into base to base contact on the elevated terrain? Has he constructed an ork force field to monstrous creatures?

Scenario 3: May an embarked unit shoot at a different target than the transport it is riding in?

Scenario 4: Is it allowable to shoot/destroy a transport with Unit A, and then shoot at the newly exposed passengers with Unit B?

Thanks in advance!

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for the night.
Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
6000pt
3000pt 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Welcome to Dakka, don't forget your flak jacket on the way in

Scenario 1:
Two quick points here. Were you guys counting the 1'' tall plateau as ruins? If so, then I'm assuming you're correctly quoting the rules regarding the use of a template to determine hits. This is important as the Mawloc uses the blast marker, not the template. In 5th edition, template and marker pertain to two very different things. The rules for templates do not apply to markers, though for ruins I'm not completely sure how a marker hit is resolved.

If not, then you wouldn't be using the rules for Ruins as I imagine this would be a piece of Area Terrain you're really talking about. If this is area terrain then you don't choose a level, all of the models under the marker (and template if you were to use one) are hit.

Scenario 2:
Just so I understand what you're saying here. He's got some models, gretchens to be precise, standing 0.5'' in (not out of) a piece of terrain, and you questioning whether your Monstrous Creature can assault. Yes he can. Check out the rules for Wobbly Model Syndrome. Basically, if you are able to execute a valid move/assault but your model won't 'sit' properly, you are allowed to carry out the move/assault and keep you model in a 'safe' location (where it won't fall over.

Scenario 3:
I don't believe so. I don't have my rulebook with me, but unless the vehicle has the Power of the Machine Spirit or it's equivalent, you need to fire everything at the same target.

Scenario 4:
Absolutely! Knock those suckers out and tee them up for a nice blast marker!!

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/02/18 21:01:27


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lysis wrote:Scenario 1: A mawloc happens to enter under some of his models. Six models are under the large blast template: half are on a 1” tall plateau terrain piece, the other half are on the game board. The question is how many hits are scored?


If they're all under the marker, they're all hit.


The rules for Ruins state that you may only affect one level with a template. Does this terrain (non-difficult/non-hazardous grassy plateau) mean that I only score 3 hits because I must choose a level? Or do I score 6 hits as this terrain is not a piece of “Ruins.”


The rules for Ruins are a change to the normal rules specifically for Ruins. They don't apply to anything else.


If I score 6 hits, could someone help with the explanation of rules governing non-ruin elevations?


There are no specific rules for dealing with elevations. Models are where they are, and anything that affects them in that position affects them as normal. Blast marker rules don't need to deal with elevation specifically... if something is under the marker, it's under the marker.



Scenario 2: A Monstrous Creature goes to assault the models on a 1” tall piece of plateau terrain. The terrain is small enough where he has constructed a ring of gretches roughly 0.5” away from the edges. Is it possible for me to assault these models as I cannot move my large base into base to base contact on the elevated terrain? Has he constructed an ork force field to monstrous creatures?


The 'Wobbly Model Syndrome' entry on page 13 covers this situation.


Scenario 3: May an embarked unit shoot at a different target than the transport it is riding in?


Yes. The rules at no point consider the embarked unit to belong to the same unit as the vehicle. There is never any requirement for two different units to shoot at the same target.


Scenario 4: Is it allowable to shoot/destroy a transport with Unit A, and then shoot at the newly exposed passengers with Unit B?


Yes. All firing from a single unit is simultaneous, but each unit's shooting is sequential. Following the Shooting phase process listed on page 15, it's perfectly possible for a unit that wasn't a valid shooting target from one unit to become a valid target for a later unit's shooting.

 
   
Made in us
Mindless Spore Mine




St. Louis, MO

Thanks for the replies and the insight - looks like the only difference of opinion sits with whether or not a vehicle and its embarked unit are considered (1) whole unit or (2) individual units.

I'm inclined to agree with Insaniak that they are separate (and may choose different targets), simply because nothing says they aren't in the rules that i can find, but am interested if someone else knows otherwise...


Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for the night.
Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
6000pt
3000pt 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's a fairly common misconception that they become a single unit, and so have to shoot the same thing (or that they are a single unit to start with, in the case of dedicated transports). But it's not actually how the rules work.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: