| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 13:46:56
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Fickle Fury of Chaos
|
My friend and I were ending a round, CSM vs IG. He attacked two infantry squads with two obliterators with heavy flamers. Focusing his fire, he wiped out one squad, but did not affect the second squad at all. He then wanted to assault the remaining squad. Others watching the game said that he could not assault the second squad, because he fired on the first squad only and wiped it out. He feels that he should be able to declare assault on the second unit because the one he fired on is no longer assaultable.
Assault rules say that if your units cannot all fit in B2B contact with the unit you fired on, they can assault another nearby unit. But it does not say what happens when the first unit is destroyed by gunfire before the assault phase.
What can he do here? Can he assault the second squad, or not?
|
Assembled: Painted:
5000 3000
Brother SRM wrote:
I don't understand why she needs to be naked with a rocket launcher.
That's a sentence I never thought I'd type. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 14:00:21
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Razgryz wrote:My friend and I were ending a round, CSM vs IG. He attacked two infantry squads with two obliterators with heavy flamers. Focusing his fire, he wiped out one squad, but did not affect the second squad at all. He then wanted to assault the remaining squad. Others watching the game said that he could not assault the second squad, because he fired on the first squad only and wiped it out. He feels that he should be able to declare assault on the second unit because the one he fired on is no longer assaultable.
Assault rules say that if your units cannot all fit in B2B contact with the unit you fired on, they can assault another nearby unit. But it does not say what happens when the first unit is destroyed by gunfire before the assault phase.
What can he do here? Can he assault the second squad, or not?
No, he cannot assault. Tell him, next time, if he wants to multi assault, don't kill off one of the units.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 14:02:34
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Also obliterators have TL flamers, not fheavy flamers any longer.
AS Gwar pointed out - he declared shooting at one unit. If that unit is wiped out then no may assault may happen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 14:32:01
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Razgryz wrote:
Assault rules say that if your units cannot all fit in B2B contact with the unit you fired on, they can assault another nearby unit. But it does not say what happens when the first unit is destroyed by gunfire before the assault phase.
This is completely wrong, and I am surprised Gwar missed it.  The rules for multi assault simply says move the closest model to the closest to the 1st unit to be assaulted. All other models can assualt which ever unit they want as long as they stay within Coherancy of a modle that has already moved. (paraphrased)
Also if you completely destroy a unit you get no assaults that turn. Transports and passengers being the only exception.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 14:33:32
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
jbunny wrote:This is completely wrong, and I am surprised Gwar missed it.
I answer only what I am asked. If I tried to correct every mistake people make when posting on YMTC, I'd have gone mad earlier than I did.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 14:33:42
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 16:02:11
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
From what I can see, the correct answer to this question depends on WHICH of the two units was declared as being the shooting target (as they must pick only one) of the Obliterators. While the flamer templates can hit and damage two units, only one of them is named as the target. If that unit is destroyed* (or falls back out of reach), the Obliterators are not allowed to declare a charge on a new & different unit.
*exception: If the destroyed unit is a transport, and the oblits manage to destroy it with their flamers, they are permitted to declare an assault on a unit which disembarks out of said transport when it is destroyed.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 16:38:23
Subject: Re:Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Fickle Fury of Chaos
|
So if he had made sure to spread the wounds around so neither unit was wiped out, he could have assaulted, but by focusing on the one squad and wiping it he loses his assault? Thanks, we were both wondering about that.
|
Assembled: Painted:
5000 3000
Brother SRM wrote:
I don't understand why she needs to be naked with a rocket launcher.
That's a sentence I never thought I'd type. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 17:19:32
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Also remember the template rules; he had to get as many of the targeted squad under the template as possible, ignoring other squads as situation determines.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 18:02:53
Subject: Re:Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Razgryz wrote:So if he had made sure to spread the wounds around so neither unit was wiped out, he could have assaulted, but by focusing on the one squad and wiping it he loses his assault? Thanks, we were both wondering about that.
There is no abiltiy to "spread the wounds around", as you are restricted to the following:
1) As many models from the target unit must be covered by the template as possible. It is irrelevant if you want to cover other units, you MUST do this
2) Each unit takes as many hits as ITS models are under the template, you dont add them up and split them between the units however you see fit.
As such it is very likely (with 3s to kill, rerolling) that you will kill al arge number of guard from the initial squad, either wiping them out or causing them to fall back.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/23 18:42:28
Subject: Assaulting multiple units
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Exactly.
In placement you can wiggle the templates around a bit as long as you cover the maximum number of models in the targeted unit (and don't break any other restrictions, like covering your own models). So if two positions of the template both cover the maximum number of models in the declared target, the firer can choose between those two positions if one is more advantageous (like to hit more or fewer of the other unit, depending on the situation).
Once you figure out how many models are covered in each unit, you resolve the shooting against each unit separately.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 18:43:39
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|