Switch Theme:

Can genestealers with toxin sacs still rend?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Arizona

Genestealers have rending claws. I can give them toxin sacs to wound on a 4+. Does rolling 6s on my poison attacks still rend and if so, do rerolled poison wounds due to S >/= T also trigger rending? It's a roll to wound and rending triggers on a 6 to wound so I believe so, but it was called into question by someone else recently.

"I drive a big car, cuz I'm a big star. I'll make a big rock-and-roll hit." "I am a big car, and I'm a strip bar. Some call it fake, I call it good-as-it-gets."

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Rending is on roll to hit, so poison will have NO effect on them.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/02/23 20:41:24


Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Huh?

No, rending is on the to-wound roll......since 5th edition.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





Any roll of a natural 6 to wound will cause a rend. Giving them toxin sacs measn that they never need worse that a 4+ to wound and you reroll if you have S=> than T. If you choose to reroll then any natural roll of a 6 will also rend.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







I've been playing that rending is to hit....hold on, let me get my BGB.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/23 21:08:33


Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Steelmage99 wrote:And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....
Mistype. Also, my BGB is in my Dads car. But I remember checking in the BGB before, and seeing it was to hit...?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/23 21:10:35


Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Klawz wrote:
Steelmage99 wrote:And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....
Mistype. Also, my BGB is in my Dads car. But I remember checking in the BGB before, and seeing it was to hit...?

Not since 5th edition came out.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Janthkin wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Steelmage99 wrote:And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....
Mistype. Also, my BGB is in my Dads car. But I remember checking in the BGB before, and seeing it was to hit...?

Not since 5th edition came out.
But I never played before 5th! I haven't even looked at those rulebooks!

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Klawz wrote:
Janthkin wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Steelmage99 wrote:And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....
Mistype. Also, my BGB is in my Dads car. But I remember checking in the BGB before, and seeing it was to hit...?

Not since 5th edition came out.
But I never played before 5th! I haven't even looked at those rulebooks!

Then you're misremembering. Rending applies to to-wound rolls (and armor penetration rolls), never on to-hit rolls.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Klawz wrote:
Janthkin wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Steelmage99 wrote:And that is correct, Klawz. It isn't what you wrote though....
Mistype. Also, my BGB is in my Dads car. But I remember checking in the BGB before, and seeing it was to hit...?

Not since 5th edition came out.
But I never played before 5th! I haven't even looked at those rulebooks!


Then you've just been playing the rule incorrectly - it really, really IS on the to wound / to armour penetrate roll.

Toxins sacks have no effect whatsoever on your ability or otherwise to rend. If you can rend, you can still rend.
   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

It even stacks in a very good way. Statistically, you will rend a little more often if you have toxin sacs.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1/6 with a reroll for the 1/2 a time you reroll, not bad.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes. Tyranid Biomorphs are written is such a way that the model benefits from all Close Combat ones it may have. A model with 2 Scything Talons, Poison Sacs and Rending Claws re-rolls to hit, wounds on a 4+ and rends

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Arizona

Cool, thanks for the clarification. I just couldn't nail down in my head how it worked.

"I drive a big car, cuz I'm a big star. I'll make a big rock-and-roll hit." "I am a big car, and I'm a strip bar. Some call it fake, I call it good-as-it-gets."

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Gwar! wrote:Yes. Tyranid Biomorphs are written is such a way that the model benefits from all Close Combat ones it may have. A model with 2 Scything Talons, Poison Sacs and Rending Claws re-rolls to hit, wounds on a 4+ and rends
Can you take 2x scytals?

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Yes. Tyranid Biomorphs are written is such a way that the model benefits from all Close Combat ones it may have. A model with 2 Scything Talons, Poison Sacs and Rending Claws re-rolls to hit, wounds on a 4+ and rends
Can you take 2x scytals?
It depends on the model

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle




Can ou take scything tale AND rending?

The true followers of the God-Emperor will never forget their name! We are the Imperial Guard!
Now and forever serving the God-Emperor, and Him alone! 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Nenya97 wrote:Can ou take scything tale AND rending?

Yes, of course!
Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Yes. Tyranid Biomorphs are written is such a way that the model benefits from all Close Combat ones it may have. A model with 2 Scything Talons, Poison Sacs and Rending Claws re-rolls to hit, wounds on a 4+ and rends
Can you take 2x scytals?
It depends on the model

Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klawz wrote:Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?
That's answered in the codex.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?
That's answered in the codex.
And it says the entire brood may take scytals. But in your example, you have them re-rolling all to hit, which can only be done with 2 pairs of scytals.

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






Gwar! was talking about the excellent reroll/rend synergy on tyranids in general, not necessarily just stealers. That's Gwar! as written (GAW). I have no idea what GAI is.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?
That's answered in the codex.
And it says the entire brood may take scytals. But in your example, you have them re-rolling all to hit, which can only be done with 2 pairs of scytals.
My example was about Nids in General, not Stealers

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?
That's answered in the codex.
And it says the entire brood may take scytals. But in your example, you have them re-rolling all to hit, which can only be done with 2 pairs of scytals.
My example was about Nids in General, not Stealers
But still, how would you have 2 pairs of scytals and rending? The only unit who could do that are genestealers, and they can't take 2 pairs of syctals.

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Klawz wrote:But still, how would you have 2 pairs of scytals and rending? The only unit who could do that are genestealers, and they can't take 2 pairs of syctals.
It was an arbitrary selection of a combination of upgrades and a demonstration that they may all work together, he was not suggesting any unit CAN do it, just saying, if a unit had all of those biomorphs, it would benefit from all of them simultaneously.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Arizona

Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Klawz wrote:Correction, can genestealers take 2x scytals?
That's answered in the codex.
And it says the entire brood may take scytals. But in your example, you have them re-rolling all to hit, which can only be done with 2 pairs of scytals.
My example was about Nids in General, not Stealers
But still, how would you have 2 pairs of scytals and rending? The only unit who could do that are genestealers, and they can't take 2 pairs of syctals.


You can't have double tals and rending. You can have single tals+rending. Alternatively you can have a psychic power give them preferred enemy and have rending also.

Genies with tals, and sacs + preferred enemy vs T4 enemies or lower = welcome to rendsville

"I drive a big car, cuz I'm a big star. I'll make a big rock-and-roll hit." "I am a big car, and I'm a strip bar. Some call it fake, I call it good-as-it-gets."

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Orlando, FL, USA

It was a thought experiment. Tyranids have only 6 limbs, and thus you can only take 2 pairs of armed limbs (using the final pair for movement). It is illegal for you to, therefore, have 2 pairs of scytals and rending claws.


HOWEVER, for the purposes of the rules, if there were to be a Tyranid creature with the option of taking 3 sets of weapons, they would all stack without interfering with each other. They were designed specifically to do this.


It's just like the Swarmlord thread in Tactics where somebody suggested 60 boyz. It's physically impossible to fit 60 boyz in a close combat with a single model, but that is how many you would theoretically need to do a desired amount of damage.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: