Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 01:16:31
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
1st: Dark Elves Magic "Word of Pain" makes the target unit Ws and Bs 1 until casters next magic phase.
The question is, can I dispel it in my turn even though it doesn't specifically say RiP? I went with no today since I wasn't sure, and I wanted to give my wife every advantage she could get while she learns the game better.
2nd: For overruns, does the unit have to be destroyed in combat or does fleeing qualify?
I had her unit of Cold One Knights in combat with my spearmen and a razordon. CoK break, spearmen pursue, can razordon overrun as follows(X is a unit of dark riders)
.............. KKKKK
.............. SSSSS
x
x............... <<<<<R
x
x
x
So can R overrun into X after K breaks and S pursues? Again, giving my wife the advantage I went with no.>
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/25 01:17:43
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 01:49:13
Subject: Re:2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
I believe a spell that says it lasts one turn or a certain duration is considered a remains in play spell, so you could dispel it in your turn.
And I would also say yes to the enemy unit having to be destroyed to overrun, otherwise your choice I think would be to pursue the original enemy unit. I don't know if you are allowed a wheel or turn to pusue or if you would just skip the pursue all together.
Granted my knowledge is based from 6th ed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/25 01:49:50
dwarfs, wood elves, dark elves, bretonnians, WOC,
space wolves, orks, eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 02:50:09
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
No, you cannot dispel it. You may only dispel spells that are specifically Remains In Play.
I'm a little confused by you diagram. was the unit of dark riders behind the combat? Basically, you either pursue the enemy or test not to. if you pursue, and your pursuit takes you into another enemy, then you count as charging. and if you overrun, you can still only go straight, so it would be the same as pursuing.
|
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 02:56:01
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
The dark riders are on the left flank of the combat. The razordon had charged the side of the knights, and after the knights fled from the spearmen, the razordon was staring right at the dark riders.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 02:58:21
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
Payson Utah, USA
|
He must pursue the enemy that broke. So basically, no, you cannot overrun unless the enemy is wiped out in the first round of combat.
|
I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.
KI-YI
Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!
GO UTES!!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 03:58:58
Subject: Re:2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
Sorry this information is from 6th ed. page 139.
spells in play = remain in play or last one turn. Still on the same page, it says; "These spells can be dispelled in the player's own Magic phase using any Power dice not being used to cast spells, as Dispel dice."
|
dwarfs, wood elves, dark elves, bretonnians, WOC,
space wolves, orks, eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 04:19:37
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Remains in play spells are always labeled as such in the spell description. They have a set of rules that apply. There are plenty of spells that last for one turn or even the entire game without being Remains In Play.
The razordon must pursue the fleeing enemy unless it can restrain. Overrun is only possible if all opponents were wiped out, which did not happen in this case. The CoK flee from the highest unit strength and anyone pursuing follows in that direction.
RZ
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 06:06:12
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
Page 110 answered the spell question, once in play(meaning not dispelled at the moment of being cast) spells of specific durations cannot be dispelled unless specified otherwise.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 11:19:38
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Overrun only if the unit has been wiped ot in close combat - the rules on this are abundantly clear. There is no exemption for multiple units in combat, so they still follow these rules.
Essentially either restrain (good if it is your turn next, not so good otherwise, at a guess) or pursue. If you pursue you can charge other units, but only along the line of pursuit (which you then follow the rules for pursuing into fresh enemy, which treats it as a fresh charge meaning you wheel to maximise if possible)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 16:35:56
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
As noted-
Word of pain: Lasts one turn-type spells like this are NOT Remains in Play spells, so cannot be dispelled at the end of the magic phase like RiP spells. That said, it's still possible for them to be cancelled by a Miscast result of 8-9, which negates all spells currently in play, not just RiP spells.
Overrun: As noted, you only Overrun if you wipe out your enemy on the same turn you charge. If they break, you can pursue, and if your straight line move to pursue that unit results in the pursuing unit contacting another enemy unit, that's a Pursuit Into Fresh Enemy, and counts as declaring a new charge on said unit, including wheeling to maximize, but using the rolled pursuit distance instead of your regular charge move.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 18:26:48
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
I found that Dark Magic in 500 points is slowed strong. Sadly a skink priest is not worth taking, and thus I must suffer the results of a whopping 2 dispel dice and no scrolls.
Both times she got Word of Pain off she cast with a 9 and I rolled 6 or less to dispel. Not too bad in a big game, but when you only have 1 melee unit it hurts.
I gladly accept the ruling on overruns. The wording in the BRB is simply "wiped out" and not something more specific about being destroyed outright by wounds. My first thought was that catching and destroying in pursuit would count as being "wiped out".
The wording just wasn't clear enough for my taste, hence me asking the community.
Nosferatu1001, why does your flag keep changing? Random I know, but I keep seeing the UK flag and then a Blue one with a circle of stars(don't know what country it's from).
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 19:02:30
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you dont read "wiped out" as "that unit is dead, dead and dead" then US English is weirder than I thought
Skink priests in 500 points are ok....not great, but ok.
At home it picks up as EU (thats the blue one) for some reason, at work it corerctly picks up UK...I need to let the mods know!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 19:50:22
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Not sure the mods can do anything about that. It has something to do with what server you're routed through.
RZ
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 19:57:43
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
OT - @nosferatu - flag changes depends on where your ISP is based. For instance, mine points to Canada when I'm at work and to the US when I'm at home. You can ask legoburner to hard-change it to your preference.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/25 21:52:18
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yep. You can put a request in at the Nuts & Bolts forum. It does take a few days to update for some reason, though.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 03:34:30
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
Just a note on catching models that flee from combat. If the Pursuing unit rolls higher than the Fleeing unit the unit will be destroyed where it stands and not after it moves. This should also help you clear up the question about wiped out you had with a fleeing unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 04:30:04
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And another note on pursuit: in the case above, where multiple units will pursue, they don't go in the direction they are facing. They go in the direction the fleeing unit went. And the fleeing unit goes directly away from the highest unit strength enemy. (p. 40)
If her Knights fled away from the spearmen, both the spearmen and the razordon would go North. So the razodon would not be able to contact the Dark Riders; in fact, he'd end up showing them his flank.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/26 04:30:43
He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 10:43:43
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except the razordon is a skirmisher, so doesnt have any flanks at that poiint
Yes, you pivot each unit around their centre so they move directly towards the fleeing unit. Unlike when units Flee from a charge you do not need to actually physically catch them - it is simply a test of how quickly they react: a low roll means they were slow to turn and run, so you have a higher chance of cutting them down where they stand.
This means you can end up not moving far enough to "catch" them (according to their roll) due to terrain, other models etc, however you dont need to. When you chase fleeing models you have to be able to reach the spot they end up - so if they flee through another unit, and that unit holds, you cannot kill the fleeing unit.
2 different situations with some critical differences that are overlooked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 14:56:44
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
By "chase fleeing models" do you mean charge or pursue into a fleeing unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 19:18:07
Subject: Re:2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
OK, let me see if I am getting this right. Unit 1 loses combat to unit A, B, C or however many. Unit 1 breaks from combat with unit A being the largest. First off, units A, B, and C decide if they want to pursue or not, lets say A wants to but B and C don't. Unit B and C need to roll against their Ld to stay put, C fails. Now we go to unit 1 and their role to see how far they would flee in the opposite direction of unit A. Unit A rolls and will not catch them. (If these were the only two in combat then both units move their rolled distance, if this brings unit A into contact with a unit 2 then unit A is considered to have charged into unit 2.) However, unit C will catch them. This means unit 1 was wiped out and none of the units actually move. Now if unit 1 was able to get away from both A and C then all the units would move (except B) the distance they rolled in the direction of the fleeing unit.
Did anyone else get lost in my example? And am I right in my thinking?
|
dwarfs, wood elves, dark elves, bretonnians, WOC,
space wolves, orks, eldar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/26 19:58:43
Subject: 2 questions from my game today
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, both units do move - it is just if you do catch the unit they are dead *immediately* and you then move the full distance rolled on your dice.
|
|
 |
 |
|