Switch Theme:

Fearless Units in Multiple CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Hi All,
Had an CC yesterday which the rules didn't seem to cover. If three Fearless units are invloved in a multiple CC (two on one side, one the other), how does the No Retreat rule work when all attacks are allocated against one unit, although the single squad is engaged with both enemy units. I'm confusing myself here. Heres an example.

Unit A is in CC with Unit B+C.

Unit A is engaged with both B+C and models in A are free to direct their attacks against either or both units.

Unit A allocates all attacks against unit B. Units B+C both attack Unit A.

Hits wounds etc for all engaged units are taken and Unit A wins the combat by two wounds (all wounds inflicted by Unit A on Unit B)

If Unit B+C were non fearless they would both check morale with a -2 mod and attempt to break away if they failed the test.

However as Unit B+C are fearless do they take 2 wounds each, even though Unit A directed all its attacks against unit B? Or is it only Unit B that suffers No Retreat wounds?

My interpretation of the rules seems to indicate that everyone on the losing side would take 2 wounds, just like non fearless units would all take a -2 Ld mod.

Not trying to insult anyones intelligence with this example, but it seemed confusing to just write. Whats your thoughts?


Flashman
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is really, really simple: every Fearless unit on the losing side takes the number of wounds their side lost the combat by.

This never changes based on who allocates where, so you were correct. It IS covered in the rules, you are simply trying to apply this situation and see if it si specifically addressed - when it deosnt need to be.

Every fearless unit on the losing side always, always, alwys, takes a number of wounds equal to the total lost. It only changes if the fearless unit could not be wounded by any model in the total combat.
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Thanks, thats what my train of thought was too.

Flashman
 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Wasn't the very same question asked yesterday?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




This was asking a slightly different question, i.e. if one side hasnt been attacked at all in CC, but is on the losing side, does it still take NR! wounds?

Same result though - this is a specific case where the OP was looking for the rules to address this case specifically. trouble is the rules dont need to - they give a general case and, unles told otherwise, you follow that.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Ah right, it was just the same principle.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: