| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/27 22:55:16
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
So, with the advent of the way to read Tyranid rules (since Tyranid weapons don't count as weapons, rather than upgrades), and the way the Tyranid codex is written, it makes me take a second look at my beloved Striking Scorpions.
Scorpion Chainsword: This is a one-handed weapon that adds +1 Str to the model's attacks.
So, if my Exarch (or Karandras) has both a Scorpion Chainsword and a Scorpion's Claw, are their attacks resolved at Str 6 +1?
The Codex says nothing of using the sword. It merely states that the weapon adds +1 Str to model's attacks, a broad characteristic.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/27 23:03:23
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Scorpion Chainsword is a Special Close Combat Weapon (probably... the rules never define exactly what makes a weapon a SCCW. The most common opinion is that it is having any additional rules that affect how it works in close combat), as is the Claw... so you would have to choose one or the other. You don't get the benefits of both.
Unless you don't class the sword as a SCCW.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/27 23:04:58
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
insaniak wrote:The Scorpion Chainsword is a Special Close Combat Weapon (probably... the rules never define exactly what makes a weapon a SCCW. The most common opinion is that it is having any additional rules that affect how it works in close combat), as is the Claw... so you would have to choose one or the other. You don't get the benefits of both.
Unless you don't class the sword as a SCCW.
But merely having the sword gives you +1 Str to the "model's" attacks. Just like "having" rending claws gives the "model" rending. It says nothing of using it. It is a weapon that adds +1 Str to the attacks of the model.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/27 23:11:22
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Other SCCW's are worded in a similar way. It doesn't matter.
Power Weapons, for example, state in their entry that models 'armed with a power weapon' get the armour-negating bonus.
They're still affected by the rules for SCCW's, which force you to choose the effects of one or the other if you have two different weapons.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/27 23:11:41
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/27 23:52:16
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
insaniak wrote:Other SCCW's are worded in a similar way. It doesn't matter.
Power Weapons, for example, state in their entry that models 'armed with a power weapon' get the armour-negating bonus.
They're still affected by the rules for SCCW's, which force you to choose the effects of one or the other if you have two different weapons.
I suppose it's the "Tyranids don't use close combat weapons as such" that is the one major caveat to the whole argument.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 00:22:45
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Orlando, FL, USA
|
puma713 wrote:insaniak wrote:Other SCCW's are worded in a similar way. It doesn't matter.
Power Weapons, for example, state in their entry that models 'armed with a power weapon' get the armour-negating bonus.
They're still affected by the rules for SCCW's, which force you to choose the effects of one or the other if you have two different weapons.
I suppose it's the "Tyranids don't use close combat weapons as such" that is the one major caveat to the whole argument.
This. The Eldar codex doesn't have a big indicator that they never use CCWs. Besides, regardless of whether or not you're counting the Scorpion Chainsword as a CCW while using the fist, it's still a special CCW due to the fact that under normal circumstances you could get +1 attack by combining it with a shuriken pistol. The Scorpion Chainsword is a CCW that provides special bonuses to its wielder. The Tyranid close combat biomorphs are wargear that provide special bonuses to their bearers. Just because you're not USING it doesn't make it NOT a weapon, that's just silly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/02/28 11:08:47
Subject: Scorpion Chainsword
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
puma713 wrote:I suppose it's the "Tyranids don't use close combat weapons as such" that is the one major caveat to the whole argument.
Yes, it is.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|