Switch Theme:

Some Prayer Questions (Empire)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Hokay, so I played a 2v2 game last night with myself as 2-priest empire and a friend as a very gribbly 2-steg lizardmen list, and a couple issues came up.

1) The rules for Prayers of Sigmar state that they may be cast on any friendly unit champion or character within 12" of the priest. There are a couple exceptions, but the Armour of Contempt, a 4+ ward save, is not one of them. So, I went ahead and cast it on his skink priest on the Engine. The problem: the spell states that the MODEL has a 4+ ward save. This clearly includes the priest, but does it include a) the stegadon, his mount and b) all the other skinks in the crew?

Arguments for: "Model" usually includes character and mount. Certainly a steg, its crew, and its rider are one model in real-world terms. Also, if Sigmar is really paying attention, he'd know that the stegadon is really the valuable part of this equation; why would he ignore it?

Arguments against: Template weapons are randomized between different members of the skink crew and the steg, as if they were part of the same "unit" but not the same "model" in gaming terms.

Things I don't know: do normal ward saves cover monstrous mounts (i.e. if the rider had taken the Holy Relic item, or had a ward save built in or something)?

2) If I have a bound spell magic item, does using it cancel any previous remains in play spells cast by the same priest? (EDIT: Nm, this is in the FAQ.)

3) Our Brettonian opponent had the virtue of killing blow against large targets (forgot the name). He opted to allocate his attacks to the skink priest. Since it's actually the steg that's a Large Target, does the virtue give killing blow against the skink, or would he have to target the steg itself to benefit from this virtue? (this never actually came up, but was discussed and we reached no conclusion.)

Somebody help!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/04 16:54:57


Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat.
 
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






1) Eltherion's covers storm wing while Eltherion is still alive. I think it would be shared with both despite Sigmar's objection to helping the lizards out.

2) NVM

3) I think it only applies to the stegadon, and not the skink it's self.

3000
4000 Deamons - Mainly a fantasy army now.
Tomb Kings-2500 Escalation League for 2012

href="http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/311987.page ">Painting and Modeling Blog
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) If it states "model" then, by page 93 (if memory serves) a rider and monstrous mount are ONE model.

There is a FAQ (part 2) which states that items only affect the bearer (unless otherwise stated), but that doesnt apply here. I';d rule that it covers the whole model (RAW)

3) the Skink is NOT a large target, only the Steg. No killing blow on the priest.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: