| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/09 16:55:14
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Chicago area
|
I want to clear a few things up in my mind before these come up in a game.
I have Black Templars with allied Daemonhunters in the form of 1 GK hero, 3 GK termies (with BC), and a unit of Grey knights.
I will be facing off with some of the new Tyranids.
I'm new to them so does the person using a Psychic attack still do a psychic test before the aegis roll?
If the Aegis passes does the power still happen but not affect the GK?
I wanted to know For the Unguents of Warding, I have this on the Termies B.C. and the Grey knight Justicar.
When the Doom of Malan'tai does Cataclysm and I save it it still takes the wounds correct as the power still goes off.
Any other thoughts on using anti psychic stuff would be helpful and if there is a way around spirt leach other then staying away from it I would love to know.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/09 16:59:58
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Spoonmerlin wrote:I'm new to them so does the person using a Psychic attack still do a psychic test before the aegis roll?
Yes. You Roll the Psychic Test, then do the Ægis effect. In Other words, the Psyker can Still PotW. If the Aegis passes does the power still happen but not affect the GK?
No. "The Power Fails", so it doesn't happen at all. When the Doom of Malan'tai does Cataclysm and I save it it still takes the wounds correct as the power still goes off.
Correct. The Wounds happen whenever the power is USED. Even if the Doom uses it but rolls an 11 or 12 for the test and fails, he still takes the wounds. Any other thoughts on using anti psychic stuff would be helpful and if there is a way around spirt leach other then staying away from it I would love to know.
Spirit Leech is not a Psychic power, and baring GW Errata, there is no defence against it whatsoever.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/09 17:01:16
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/11 18:58:49
Subject: Re:Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Chicago area
|
The Unguents of Warding say
The daemonhunter and the unit he is with benefit from a 4+ save against the effects of any and every enemy psychic power used upon them.
Is this to mean "a save" as in me and my friends benefit from a radio againt the effects of bordom in that there would be one save like there one radio.
Or
Is this to mean "a save" as in me and my friends benefit from a jacket against the effects of cold in that we could each have a jacket that is seperate.
It makes more sense in the 1st example as written but could be interprated to mean a save for each man but without the word Each it really is not written that way.
Also as this is a Save and your only really allowed one save (picking the best avail) you could argue that if you take this then the unit cannot take a armor, cover or inv. as it has taken a save vs. the effect of this with the one 4+.
I'm not positive but I assume this is not how this is played so I want to know in a tournament or regular game is this one 4+ save and then the power happens or it does not or does this become like a 4+ inv. save vs. Psychic powers for each guy. I read as one way and a friend the other.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/11 21:59:02
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
The 4+ save against powers is not a save against wounds necessarily (you could use it against lash - it doesn't cause wounds). It's to negate the power. Pass the roll, the power used against them fails. In the same way a psychic hood or Aegis works.
If it's a power that inflicts wounds, think of it as a 2nd chance. Dispel power, if you fail and take wounds, then SAVES are made against wounds (if allowed).
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 00:10:51
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
The cool thing about Unguents of Warding is that the save can used after a Psychic Hood or Ageis failed. It truly is a 2nd chance.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 10:59:28
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Chicago area
|
Still does not answer my question.
All I want to know is in real world play is the save
One save for whole unit.
or
Each person affected is given a seperate save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 11:13:26
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Units resist, not models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 21:14:06
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
The rules for "Unguent of Warding" state the model and it's unit benefit from its save.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/13 15:03:03
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
Spoonmerlin wrote:Still does not answer my question. All I want to know is in real world play is the save One save for whole unit. or Each person affected is given a seperate save.
To be fair Spoonmerlin, you never actually asked that question in your initial post. Try to be a little more concise. I suggest you re-read the Unguents of Warding description again, where it specifically says "...the Daemonhunters and the unit he is with benefit from a 4+ save...".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/13 15:05:35
You brighten my life like a polystyrene hat, but it melts in the sun like a life without love, and I've waited for you so I'll keep holding on without you.
"There's nothing cooler than being proud of the things that you love" - Sean Plott
Gold League - Terran |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/15 06:13:55
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Chicago area
|
I asked how it was played if it is one save for the unit or each man in the unit gets a save. While I believed it was a Unit save, my friend did not originally. He thought that it was granting a ineffect inv. save vs. pyschic attacks. He did not want to take my word that it was one save so I posted it here.
I did read the rule BTW. I wanted to clear this up for someone that also read the rule but thought it meant something different.
Somepeople read the GW rules differently. As I noted in the question about Unguents. I wanted to basicly break a tie rather then a roll off as it might come up in outside games.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/15 22:26:15
Subject: Daemonhunters anti psycic powers questions
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
One save for the whole unit. Can be used after a failed Aegis or Psychic Hood roll. Remember, though, that you can only use Aegis or a Psychic Hood, not both. Unguents are a separate rule and use with different timing.
To be be more clear, Unguents of Warding is used to provide a single roll to attempt to negate a psychic power from effecting a unit. One roll that covers every model in the unit. If the roll passes, no model in the unit is effected; if the roll fails, all models in the unit are effected.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|