| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 07:32:00
Subject: Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hey guys, quick question, we've been doing some looking through the rulebook for Ordanance (specifically Tank ordanance) and were a bit bamboozled as it suggests one thing and says another.
We're just curious if all ordinance by default can ignore LOS to shoot (aka doesn't have to specify in the rules). To us it does some logical in some circumstances (aka Mortars) and not in others (aka Tanks). So does ordinance ignore LOS by default (aka I can park a Shokk Attack Gun or Looted Wagon behind a hill/mountain and just suffer the minus) or does it only apply to ones stated in its rules?
Thanks for the help in advance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 07:50:12
Subject: Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
No, Ordnance and blast markers do not ignore LOS by default. Only those Ordnance or blast marker weapons that also have the Barrage rule get to ignore LOS restrictions. They are generally termed as Indirect Fire (oe IDF) weapons. Others, such as the Battle Cannon are generally termed Direct Fire weapons.
So if it ain't Barrage, ya gotta be able to see the target to shoot the gun.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 07:54:48
Subject: Re:Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok sweet, makes sense, but it can still hit though if DFW's scatter out of LoS correct? I remember reading that in the rules specifically but does it apply to both or just barrage?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 07:57:45
Subject: Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yes (edit: applies to both). Even if the DF weapon scatters out of range and/or LOS, it still lands somewhere and can wound/kill/damage whatever it does land on.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/10 07:58:12
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 08:00:35
Subject: Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
OK mate thanks heaps for the help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/10 09:26:03
Subject: Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The exception (there is always one!) is that if the hole in the centre scatters off the table, then the shot misses - even if part of the blast marker is still on and would have hit models otherwise.
Otherwise Barrage = indirect "can shoot out of LOS" fire. The other thing that may be useful to know is that, if you HAVE line of sight to a target then you get to reduce your scatter by your Ballistic skill, even if you are firing as barrage. It is only when you are firing out of LOS (and thus using Barrage only) that you dont use your Ballistic Skill.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/10 09:26:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/13 14:46:57
Subject: Re:Ordinance newbie question...
|
 |
Fleshound of Khorne
|
pixxpixx wrote:Ok sweet, makes sense, but it can still hit though if DFW's scatter out of LoS correct? I remember reading that in the rules specifically but does it apply to both or just barrage?
My gaming group and i generally grant the recipient unit a cover save of some sort in this circumstance, as if you draw a LOS it would count as firing through cover.
I tend to find an inaccurate shot seems a little bit more believable than a 90 degree bouncing BC shell!
|
= 2000+ 3W-0L-1D
= 2000+ 3W-2L-2D
= 2000+ 4W-2L-3D
======Begin Dakka Code======
DS:80S---G++M---B+IPW40K98+D+A+++/sWD120R++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Code======
Why dont i ever fail psychic tests?
'My commisar's gun go pop!' |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|