Switch Theme:

Grey Knight Brother Captain weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Dayton, Ohio

I'm just curious about this, it says in the daemonhunters codex that "Grey Knights in power armour may only take items from the 'wargear' section" (In the weaponry section) But the Brother Captain is wearing Terminator armour, can he trade in his NFW and SB for say, a pair of LCs, or a TH/SS combo? Or can you not alter his 'weapons' (He already has two)

Arctik_Firangi wrote:Spelling? Well excuse me, I thought we were discussing the rules as written.
Don't worry, I'm a certified speed freek
Know who else are speed freeks? and  
   
Made in us
Stubborn Temple Guard






I play that he can take those things for the points cost listed, and chooses which ones to use in any given round.

The exception is a TH/SS. That is a gray area since a Grey Knight Terminator can already take those, and a Brother-Captain is a Terminator.

I tend to only give my BC's a psycannon, that way I can put 2 in a Terminator squad.

27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Dayton, Ohio

Upon further reading, you can give him a daemon-hammer as well, so I guess he can take these weapons, but it also says 'characters may have up to two weapons' so I guess the bro-captain would have to trade his normal weapons in.

Arctik_Firangi wrote:Spelling? Well excuse me, I thought we were discussing the rules as written.
Don't worry, I'm a certified speed freek
Know who else are speed freeks? and  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






the Codex is outdated; 4th edition provided verbiage that a character upgrading his weapons lost his initial weapons when selecting weapons from the armory; unfortunately RAW: they lost all weapons and it created too many problems, 5th has no such verbiage and the 5th edition codices all tell you what options the models have and what weapons they swap out for them.

These are the main reasons I stopped playing in 4th and started again in 5th.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Except you fail to notice that DH is in fact a Third edition codex.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

To answer the OP: yes, a Brother Captain may exchange his weapons for different ones froms the DH Armoury, as long as the rules stated on the Armoury page followed. I.e., no more then two weapons, only one of which may be two-handed, no more that 100pts in Wargear (which is separate from Weapons), no more than one of any one piece of Wargear, etc.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: